ResMed Airsense 10 malfunction?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
samhandwich
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 4:50 pm

ResMed Airsense 10 malfunction?

Post by samhandwich » Sat Jun 11, 2016 5:44 am

I've been on CPAP for a bit more than a year and I was woken up this morning to sudden, sustained high pressure from my CPAP and difficulty breathing. It seems like maybe it's thinking I'm having a blockage although I am not. I tried power cycling, checked all my settings, but as you can see from the Sleepyhead data, after the initial few minutes, the machine goes back to high pressure. Anyone know what's going on and how to fix it? Thank you.

Image

Zoomed in:
Image

_________________
MachineMask

User avatar
Pugsy
Posts: 64271
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: ResMed Airsense 10 malfunction?

Post by Pugsy » Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:11 am

I take it you were awake totally from the 4:55 to 5:35 mark where you gave up and got up?

What is your ramp setting and how long? Is it on Auto or regular ramp?
If ramp is on..turn it off totally.

Go into the clinical menu and verify that the minimum pressure hasn't been changed by aliens.

Play with the machine today while awake like you did from 5 AM mark on...see if it keeps acting up.
I don't know what's wrong or how to fix it but if it still keeps acting up my first suspect would be a faulty sensor and requires a visit to the DME (and of course they are likely closed today)....do you have a back up machine available?

_________________
Machine: AirCurve™ 10 VAuto BiLevel Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Additional Comments: Mask Bleep Eclipse https://bleepsleep.com/the-eclipse/
I may have to RISE but I refuse to SHINE.

If you want to try the Eclipse mask and want a special promo code to get a little off the price...send me a private message.

samhandwich
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 4:50 pm

Re: ResMed Airsense 10 malfunction?

Post by samhandwich » Mon Jun 13, 2016 4:03 pm

Sorry for my delayed follow-up.

Yes, I was awake during that time. No, no settings have been changed. No, I don't have a backup. Ramp was on Auto, as it has been for as long as I've had the CPAP.

I took the outer casing off to see if there were any obvious issues and found that the hose port was not fully seated. I'm not sure if that was causing a problem - and, if it was, why all of a sudden at 5 in the morning - but I reattached it properly. I reassembled and it's been working correctly for the past 2 nights.

_________________
MachineMask