Cpap Newbie, Noise is a big issue-

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
musicmanjer

Cpap Newbie, Noise is a big issue-

Post by musicmanjer » Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:17 pm

Hello All,

So 3 weeks ago I was diagnosed with Severe Apnea. Over 88 events. I was given a Philips machine with a nasal mask. It has been 7 days now, not very long I know, but I got used to the headstraps and got the mask so that it doesn't leak on me. Anyway, I have struggled to accept this thing as a way of life for me and realize I need it. My issue is that I can be just barely awake, and ready to sleep, put the mask on and then pray I get to sleep, but cannot because of the air noise of exhaling and the air being forced into my nose. The pump itself is quiet and I dont hear a thing from it.

I am a musician and sound engineer and am very sensitive to sound. I am a light sleeper while trying to get to sleep, and somewhat during the night. The exhale to me sounds like a hurricane and have tried getting over it. I've trie earplugs, but all that does is amplify it in my inner ear. Some folks say get a white noise generator or a fan, but that to me is obnoxious noise and cant wait to turn it off.

Does anyone have any advice for me? Am I doomed? Will I continue to have sleepless nights as I have (6 in a row now)?

Any help is appreciated-
Blessings,
Jerry

cosmo

Re: Cpap Newbie, Noise is a big issue-

Post by cosmo » Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:20 pm

Type of mask and pressure settings?

herefishy

Post by herefishy » Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:22 pm

This is very probably a problem that can be easily taken care of with a different mask - talk to your DME.

Goofproof

Post by Goofproof » Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:25 pm

Try turning on some MUSIC for background, I made a recording of nature sounds, storms, rain, thunder etc. I also use T. V. but I tend to wake up at the ads, thAt defeats the idea. The drumming of a motor or fan is also good, what ever floats your boat. Jim