ASV users RESMED aircurv 10 asv vs S9 Adapt

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
wilsonintexas

ASV users RESMED aircurv 10 asv vs S9 Adapt

Post by wilsonintexas » Thu Jun 18, 2015 4:48 pm

I have been using a S9 VPAP Adapt for several years and it is time for a new machine.

I tried the PR system 1 ASV (I forget the actual name sorry) and it is not doing as well as I had hoped. I have a separate thread trying to adjust it. In a way, I am a little lucky, because as of Jan 1, my insurance changed how they buy machines. They rent the machine for the first 3 months. So I am looking to switch back to the RESMED. I called the DEM, and it looks like all I need is a new script from my DR to switch machines. The current script specified the PR system.

I am thinking of the new RESMED Aircurve 10 ASV, but I wanted to see if anyone has used it, and see how it compares to the S9.

The S9 kept my AHI at 0. But on my older achine, the lowest I could set the PS was 3. Even with the lowest settings, my AHI was at 0. I believe that the new Aircurve (or for that matter even a current S9) can let me lower the PS min lower. (This all started when my aegro got a lot worse, and I was trying to lower the pressures to address that). Even on the S9, it got better at the lower settings, but it looked like I could go lower, but the machine would not cooperate.

Any comments would be appreciated. I can get the DR to specify any machine I want, so I just need to see which one to get.

I am tempted to see if I can get another S9, that way at least I can have a spare humidifier, but I know that in the long run, I am probably beter off with the new machine, from a long term parts/repair/support viewpoint.

Thanks again for any comments.

wilsonintexas

Re: ASV users RESMED aircurv 10 asv vs S9 Adapt

Post by wilsonintexas » Mon Jun 22, 2015 7:20 am

bump.