New to Dreamstation - changes in settings

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
zirbel77
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 20, 2023 10:28 am

New to Dreamstation - changes in settings

Post by zirbel77 » Mon May 22, 2023 2:32 pm

With the help of this forum I managed to turn the ramp on my new Dreamstation machine to zero. However, I still felt it was uncomfortable to breathe last night. The former machine was Respironics System One.

I have read the card in Sleepyhead. I very rarely do this, but when I am seeing a doctor I take a printout. When I collected this machine on Friday, I only saw technicians, not doctors.

So looking at the Sleepyhead readings, most are the same. But there is a bit on Changes to Prescription Settings.

1. Pressure settings are described as Min 4 Max 20, previously Min 8 Max 20. This is something I was once recommended to change because the machine took ages to reach 8. However, now my average pressure is given as 8 so probably it is OK to leave it at 4.

2. For Pressure Relief, the old machine had C-Flex + x3. The new machine has "None". Is that OK? Should there be some kind of pressure relief? Or do I just need to get used to the new feeling? I read somewhere that there are three possible settings for this setting.

User avatar
zonker
Posts: 11048
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 4:36 pm

Re: New to Dreamstation - changes in settings

Post by zonker » Mon May 22, 2023 3:55 pm

zirbel77 wrote:
Mon May 22, 2023 2:32 pm


I have read the card in Sleepyhead.
could you post an image here for the forum to comment upon?

thank you.
people say i'm self absorbed.
but that's enough about them.
Oscar-Win
https://www.apneaboard.com/OSCAR/OSCAR-1.5.1-Win64.exe
Oscar-Mac
https://www.apneaboard.com/OSCAR/OSCAR-1.5.1.dmg

zirbel77
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 20, 2023 10:28 am

Re: New to Dreamstation - changes in settings

Post by zirbel77 » Mon May 22, 2023 4:22 pm

You mean a screenshot of the report? I have read that attachments are not encouraged in the forum at the moment.
I described the important data: now "Pressure relief: none", previously "C-Flex + x3".

zirbel77
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 20, 2023 10:28 am

Re: New to Dreamstation - changes in settings

Post by zirbel77 » Mon May 22, 2023 4:52 pm

I have now looked at the info for new members (I am not a new member but I don't come often and my password didn't work). I should have stuck to one thread for both my questions. And I think I have taken two screenshots. I couldn't work out how to remove my personal details so I've deleted them. Should I be editing them in Photoshop or something? Thanks.

User avatar
Dog Slobber
Posts: 3967
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: New to Dreamstation - changes in settings

Post by Dog Slobber » Mon May 22, 2023 6:06 pm

Both reasons you described can explain why your new setup is uncomfortable.

Min of 4, many people find this to be very uncomfortable, like being air starved.

Without Flex, a higher you are breathing against a higher pressure.

One or both may be contributing to your discomfort. I would set the new system to that of your old one.

User avatar
zonker
Posts: 11048
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 4:36 pm

Re: New to Dreamstation - changes in settings

Post by zonker » Mon May 22, 2023 6:24 pm

zirbel77 wrote:
Mon May 22, 2023 4:22 pm
You mean a screenshot of the report? I have read that attachments are not encouraged in the forum at the moment.
read here, pls-
viewtopic/t183806/Attachment-storage-is ... MENTS.html
people say i'm self absorbed.
but that's enough about them.
Oscar-Win
https://www.apneaboard.com/OSCAR/OSCAR-1.5.1-Win64.exe
Oscar-Mac
https://www.apneaboard.com/OSCAR/OSCAR-1.5.1.dmg

zirbel77
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 20, 2023 10:28 am

Re: New to Dreamstation - changes in settings

Post by zirbel77 » Tue May 23, 2023 1:04 am

Thanks, dog slobber. I did have the pressure starting at 8 but it is telling me that my average pressure is sometimes 8 (at least on the basis of 3 days' use). So I will try setting it at 7. And the other setting I will change too. I really did feel as though I was suffocating, although I had removed the ramp.
Last edited by zirbel77 on Tue May 23, 2023 1:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

zirbel77
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 20, 2023 10:28 am

Re: New to Dreamstation - changes in settings

Post by zirbel77 » Tue May 23, 2023 1:07 am

@zonker I saw the beginning of that but it still doesn't tell me how to remove my name and address from the screenshot. As most of the report is unchanged and OK and the two changed settings are indicated by Sleepyhead and I already described them, I will leave it for now. I really did feel breathing was hard last night so I will change the settings.

User avatar
Julie
Posts: 19918
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:58 pm

Re: New to Dreamstation - changes in settings

Post by Julie » Tue May 23, 2023 5:44 am

Can you not cover the personal info with little paper slips prior to photo'ing?

User avatar
Dog Slobber
Posts: 3967
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: New to Dreamstation - changes in settings

Post by Dog Slobber » Tue May 23, 2023 6:26 am

zirbel77 wrote:
Tue May 23, 2023 1:07 am
@zonker I saw the beginning of that but it still doesn't tell me how to remove my name and address from the screenshot. As most of the report is unchanged and OK and the two changed settings are indicated by Sleepyhead and I already described them, I will leave it for now. I really did feel breathing was hard last night so I will change the settings.
  • Upgrade to OSCAR, SleepyHead is abandoned and OSCAR is based of it.
  • Don't use the the OSCAR (or SleepyHead) provided mechanism to get your graphics. Instead use your OS. Press SHIFT-Windows-S and square off the graphic, excluding your name.
    Or
  • Load your image into Paint, draw over your name, then resave.

User avatar
zonker
Posts: 11048
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 4:36 pm

Re: New to Dreamstation - changes in settings

Post by zonker » Tue May 23, 2023 11:32 am

zirbel77 wrote:
Tue May 23, 2023 1:07 am
@zonker I saw the beginning of that but it still doesn't tell me how to remove my name and address from the screenshot.
???? why would your name and address be in sleepyhead?

or am i missing something?
people say i'm self absorbed.
but that's enough about them.
Oscar-Win
https://www.apneaboard.com/OSCAR/OSCAR-1.5.1-Win64.exe
Oscar-Mac
https://www.apneaboard.com/OSCAR/OSCAR-1.5.1.dmg

User avatar
Miss Emerita
Posts: 3467
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2018 8:07 pm

Re: New to Dreamstation - changes in settings

Post by Miss Emerita » Tue May 23, 2023 11:46 am

Why on earth would your prescription be written for default settings when you had been using a machine with customized settings?! If you change your minimum to 7 or 8 and add flex, as others have suggested, I think you'll feel a lot better.
Oscar software is available at https://www.sleepfiles.com/OSCAR/

zirbel77
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 20, 2023 10:28 am

Re: New to Dreamstation - changes in settings

Post by zirbel77 » Tue May 23, 2023 12:28 pm

Hi, is Oscar only Windows? I use Mac for Sleepyhead. I do actually have Windows under Parallels though.
I don't understand how I use paper slips if I'm doing a screenshot, but perhaps I should be photographing the screen with my iphone? then I could cut the address off.
I suppose my name and address are there because I put them there. Is this not normal? Of course, they don't need it.
I really must change my settings this evening as I haven't been sleeping well.
I cannot answer the question as to why the settings were not adjusted, but they weren't, that is the main problem.

Many thanks for all answers.

zirbel77
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 20, 2023 10:28 am

Re: New to Dreamstation - changes in settings

Post by zirbel77 » Tue May 23, 2023 12:31 pm

Btw I worry about people who cannot access forums.
If as zonker implies I need not have entered my name and address, I could probably delete them or at least use pseudonyms.

User avatar
Dog Slobber
Posts: 3967
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: New to Dreamstation - changes in settings

Post by Dog Slobber » Tue May 23, 2023 1:45 pm

zirbel77 wrote:
Tue May 23, 2023 12:28 pm
Hi, is Oscar only Windows? I use Mac for Sleepyhead. I do actually have Windows under Parallels though.
I don't understand how I use paper slips if I'm doing a screenshot, but perhaps I should be photographing the screen with my iphone? then I could cut the address off.
I suppose my name and address are there because I put them there. Is this not normal? Of course, they don't need it.
I really must change my settings this evening as I haven't been sleeping well.
I cannot answer the question as to why the settings were not adjusted, but they weren't, that is the main problem.

Many thanks for all answers.
OSCAR works under Windows, Linux and Mac (10.12 - Sierra or newer)

To take a screen print (this works for both SleepyHead and OSCAR) on your Mac:
  • go into the Daily graphs
  • format the graphs as suggested in the pinned topics:
    • Turn off Calendar
    • Event Flags
    • Flow Rate
    • Pressure
    • Flow Limit
    • Leak Rate
  • Press shift+command+4
  • Then capture the area on your screen (exclude you personal info at the top)
  • When you release the mouse the image will be captured
  • The screen shot should be saved on your Desktop
  • Upload your screen shot to a site like imgur