Can I use the Airsense 10 power supply with the AirMini?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Erocking
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2024 3:47 pm

Can I use the Airsense 10 power supply with the AirMini?

Post by Erocking » Fri Jun 07, 2024 4:02 pm

Hello. Can I use the AirSense 10 power supply with the AirMini? The output of the AirSense 10’s 90W supply says 24v and 3.75A but the AirMini’s 20W supply outputs 24v and 0.83A.

I have all the necessary adapters and just tried it for 30 seconds and the AirMini works but I don’t want to blow the AirMini.

The only reason I would want to do that is because I am traveling somewhere where the power will be inconsistent at night and I’m going to use the pilot lite 24 portable battery. But there’s no way to charge that battery with the AirMini power supply like you can with the AirSense 10‘s supply.

So I was thinking I would leave the AirMini’s supply at home and bring the AirSense 10‘s supply because that’s the only way I can charge the battery. But if I use the supply for the AirSense 10, I don’t want to blow out the AirMini.

I don’t know enough about electricity to know if I will destroy the AirMini by using the AirSense 10’s power supply.

Thank you.

User avatar
ChicagoGranny
Posts: 14601
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 1:43 pm
Location: USA

Re: Can I use the Airsense 10 power supply with the AirMini?

Post by ChicagoGranny » Fri Jun 07, 2024 4:24 pm

The voltage must match. Both are 24V.

For amps, you need to have a minimum of 0.83. The machine will not draw more amps than needed. You are safe.

That's a general rule for electric devices.

I don't understand your charging issue, but it seems not to matter to me.
"It's not the number of breaths we take, it's the number of moments that take our breath away."

Erocking
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2024 3:47 pm

Re: Can I use the Airsense 10 power supply with the AirMini?

Post by Erocking » Fri Jun 07, 2024 5:37 pm

Thanks so much ChicagoGranny. Told you I didn’t know much about electricity.

User avatar
vandownbytheriver
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2024 11:42 pm

Re: Can I use the Airsense 10 power supply with the AirMini?

Post by vandownbytheriver » Fri Jun 07, 2024 7:32 pm

As you've found, it works fine. When considering current capacity, excess is no problem.

_________________
Machine: AirCurve™ 10 VAuto BiLevel Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: Fisher & Paykel Vitera Full Face Mask with Headgear (S, M, or L Cushion)
Additional Comments: I use O2Ring, Oscar, SleepHQ, and Cover Roll Stretch mouth tape.

prodigyplace
Posts: 1765
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:45 pm
Location: Central Virginia

Re: Can I use the Airsense 10 power supply with the AirMini?

Post by prodigyplace » Sat Jun 08, 2024 4:29 am

Did you mean Airsense 10 or Airsense 11?

I believe the connector on the AirMini is different than the Airsense 10 but the same as the Airsense 11. I have heard of some people using the AirMini 12V power supply on the Airsense 11. I expect an Airsense 11 power supply may work on the AirMini but not the Airsense 10 one due to different proprietary connectors.

_________________
Machine: AirSense 11 Autoset
Mask: AirFit™ P10 Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: ClimateLineAir Heated Tube & Sleepyhead software
Please visit our sponsor, CPAP.com at https://www.cpap.com/ for all your CPAP needs.

User avatar
ChicagoGranny
Posts: 14601
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 1:43 pm
Location: USA

Re: Can I use the Airsense 10 power supply with the AirMini?

Post by ChicagoGranny » Sat Jun 08, 2024 10:28 am

prodigyplace wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2024 4:29 am
Did you mean Airsense 10 or Airsense 11?

I believe the connector on the AirMini is different than the Airsense 10 but the same as the Airsense 11. I have heard of some people using the AirMini 12V power supply on the Airsense 11. I expect an Airsense 11 power supply may work on the AirMini but not the Airsense 10 one due to different proprietary connectors.
Good question.
"It's not the number of breaths we take, it's the number of moments that take our breath away."

User avatar
ChicagoGranny
Posts: 14601
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 1:43 pm
Location: USA

Re: Can I use the Airsense 10 power supply with the AirMini?

Post by ChicagoGranny » Sat Jun 08, 2024 10:31 am

Erocking wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2024 5:37 pm
Thanks so much ChicagoGranny. Told you I didn’t know much about electricity.
That's shocking.
"It's not the number of breaths we take, it's the number of moments that take our breath away."

prodigyplace
Posts: 1765
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:45 pm
Location: Central Virginia

Re: Can I use the Airsense 10 power supply with the AirMini?

Post by prodigyplace » Sat Jun 08, 2024 3:26 pm

ChicagoGranny wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2024 10:28 am
prodigyplace wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2024 4:29 am
Did you mean Airsense 10 or Airsense 11?

I believe the connector on the AirMini is different than the Airsense 10 but the same as the Airsense 11. I have heard of some people using the AirMini 12V power supply on the Airsense 11. I expect an Airsense 11 power supply may work on the AirMini but not the Airsense 10 one due to different proprietary connectors.
Good question.
AirSense 10 plug on the left, Airesense 11 on the right.

IMG_1679.jpg
IMG_1679.jpg (199.03 KiB) Viewed 1588 times

_________________
Machine: AirSense 11 Autoset
Mask: AirFit™ P10 Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: ClimateLineAir Heated Tube & Sleepyhead software
Please visit our sponsor, CPAP.com at https://www.cpap.com/ for all your CPAP needs.

User avatar
ChicagoGranny
Posts: 14601
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 1:43 pm
Location: USA

Re: Can I use the Airsense 10 power supply with the AirMini?

Post by ChicagoGranny » Sat Jun 08, 2024 3:48 pm

prodigyplace wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2024 3:26 pm
AirSense 10 plug on the left, Airesense 11 on the right.

He seems to be OK with adapters. It's good you posted the pics. They might help someone else.
Erocking wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2024 4:02 pm
I have all the necessary adapters and just tried it for 30 seconds and the AirMini works but I don’t want to blow the AirMini.
"It's not the number of breaths we take, it's the number of moments that take our breath away."

User avatar
ChicagoGranny
Posts: 14601
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 1:43 pm
Location: USA

Re: Can I use the Airsense 10 power supply with the AirMini?

Post by ChicagoGranny » Sat Jun 08, 2024 4:23 pm

There are adapters between the 10 and 11 plugs. (I didn't price-shop this link.) https://www.bixpower.com/product-p/cnt-as11-x75.htm
"It's not the number of breaths we take, it's the number of moments that take our breath away."

prodigyplace
Posts: 1765
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:45 pm
Location: Central Virginia

Re: Can I use the Airsense 10 power supply with the AirMini?

Post by prodigyplace » Sat Jun 08, 2024 6:21 pm

ChicagoGranny wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2024 4:23 pm
There are adapters between the 10 and 11 plugs. (I didn't price-shop this link.) https://www.bixpower.com/product-p/cnt-as11-x75.htm
i was not aware of this. I have the Airsense 10 DC adapter I use in power outages. Adapting to the airsense 11 would be great.

Looking at the specs, assuming the adapter people did their job well, I see no issues. In fact, now I know there is an adapter from 10 to 11, I will likely purchase one myself.

_________________
Machine: AirSense 11 Autoset
Mask: AirFit™ P10 Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: ClimateLineAir Heated Tube & Sleepyhead software
Please visit our sponsor, CPAP.com at https://www.cpap.com/ for all your CPAP needs.