Disposing of worn out supplies?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
library lady

Disposing of worn out supplies?

Post by library lady » Tue Jun 10, 2014 8:36 pm

What is the best way to dispose of worn out tubing, cushions, etc.? I hate to put them in the trash where they will just end up in the landfill. Is any cpap related stuff recyclable? I have a hose to discard and would like to dispose of it responsibly if that's possible..

Now using AirFit F10 mask; Quattro Air is backup mask. RemZzzz mask liners with both.

Wulfman...

Re: Disposing of worn out supplies?

Post by Wulfman... » Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:01 pm

I've been using the same hose for nine years. Hasn't worn out yet. And, I'm not sure how one WOULD wear one out.
I did wear out one set of headgear for my UMFF mask at four years (2009) and swapped it out with another from my backup mask and finally broke out a new one at the beginning of 2012 (and put the backup headgear back on the backup mask). Still using them both and they're not close to wearing out. The old one is in my box of supplies (doesn't take up much space).
I used my original full face mask cushion for six years and in 2011 I decided to try one of the spare cushions I'd stocked up on and put the original back in its package for possible future use. It still had good leak numbers when I quit using it, so it is probably still very usable.
I'm also still using my original UMFF mask that I started with in May of 2005.

"Disposing" of this stuff has never crossed my mind. I just keep using it.

Den

library lady

Post by library lady » Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:42 pm