Self Analysis of Sleep Patterns,etc

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Doovid

Self Analysis of Sleep Patterns,etc

Post by Doovid » Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:23 am

I'm a newbie, so have a few questions.... Some of the CPAP machines have the capability to generate various reports of positive/negative air pressures, mask leaks, snoring intervals, etc., While this may be useful to a sleep apnea trained medical technician, can the average user (such as myself) be able to evaluate and use the data properly? I read on this forum where many users are changing pressure settings, etc., without discussing these changes with their doctor or DME.

I am leary of the results of a patient incorrectly making changes to his/her treatment based on limited knowledge of this dangerous disease. Is there a "users manual" on how to interpret and apply data gathered by the various CPAP machines? Are there any easily understood clinical/medical reports that discuss the data and it's use?

Believe me, I am very interested in being able to do a self-analysis of my sleeping patterns, apnea incidents, etc., and modifying my treatment, but I don't want to make things worse by experimenting where I shouldn't, as a patient, not a clinician. . As it is often said, "... a little knowledge is a dangerous thing!"

I'm not submitting this message to cause a flame-up, but only to be sure that I do the right thing. I want to make this treatment I'm beginning the best I can....

ehusen

Post by ehusen » Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:37 am

Well there are a lot of opinions on this board but I think that in many cases you the patient will do a better job in your treatment than many of the Doctor's and DMEs out there.