Does your doctor/DME know you're reading data?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
xm41907

Does your doctor/DME know you're reading data?

Post by xm41907 » Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:51 pm

I'm curious how many people inform their Doctor and/or DME that they are reading the data using Sleepyhead software or other. I'm new to this and am having high AHI from centrals. I'd been on my cpap for only 3 days when I called my DME and said I was having high AHIs. He got really defense sounding and asked how I knew. I only said that I read the information from the machines LCD display, not mentioning Sleepyhead.

Should I inform them that I'm tracking things myself, or just play ignorant?

MaxDarkside

Re: Does your doctor/DME know you're reading data?

Post by MaxDarkside » Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:59 pm

My doctor knows, and in his case, he likes it and gave me free reign for a year. I think some doctors would have a serious issue with it. My DME doesn't know I know my stats in detail, but knows I change settings in the machine and they get very upset that I've done that because they didn't have a prescription on hand that instructed them to tell me to change the settings to the values I'm using. In the time this occurred, they got in a huff and transferred me to my Dr's nurse so I could get a tongue lashing, but she listened to me, then wrote a prescription for the settings I'm using, then got the Dr. to sign and sent it to the DME to set the DME straight.

I would think that the opinions of the Dr. and DME would / could vary greatly and one might be careful about the situation.

Do or Die... Sleep Apnea killed me, but I came back. Click for my story
Please visit my My Apnea Analytics blog. Maybe we can help each other.
54 yrs, 6' 1", 160->172 lbs

LSAT

Post by LSAT » Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:19 pm