Can anyone suggest a mask for stomach/side sleeper?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
brendapereira

Can anyone suggest a mask for stomach/side sleeper?

Post by brendapereira » Wed Mar 16, 2011 5:27 pm

My swift fx isnt cutting it. Any suggestions?

Mr Bill

Re: Can anyone suggest a mask for stomach/side sleeper?

Post by Mr Bill » Wed Mar 16, 2011 6:23 pm

I suggest a nasal mask like mine. I have no experience with full face masks but my mask rarely leaks even at 25cm, which does not happen that often. I sleep on my back mostly but I started out sleeping on my side and its perfect for that. This mask can be moved around quite a bit and maintains seal. It has a double seal and is comfortable. You just need to have the habit of keeping your mouth closed when you sleep. See if your DME will let you try one.

90% EPAP=7.0, Avg PS=4.0, Avg bpm 18.3, Avg Min vent 9.2 Lpm, Avg CA/OA/H/AHI = 0.1/0.1/2.1/2.3 ... updated 02/17/12

Kiralynx

Post by Kiralynx » Wed Mar 16, 2011 6:29 pm

brendapereira wrote:My swift fx isnt cutting it. Any suggestions?
I'm testing out the Swift FX, and found it did not work AT ALL for me until I bought Pad-a-Cheek's barrel cover and side covers.

My favorite, the Headrest, is no longer being made.

Next favorite is the Comfortlite 2, which works really, really well for a side sleeper. It was my first mask and worked for me from the get-go.

Beastie, 2008-10-28. NEW Beastie, PRS1 960, 2014-05-14. NEWER Beastie, Dream Station ASV, 2017-10-17. PadaCheek Hosecover. Homemade Brandy Keg Chin Support. TapPap Mask.
Min PS = 4, Max PS = 8
Epap Range = 6 - 7.5

xenablue

Post by xenablue » Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:10 pm

I'm a side/stomach sleeper and use a Swift FX for Her and don't have many serious leaks at all, as long as I spend the time to adjust it properly. I made my own sleeves/pads for the gel straps of the headgear that goes on my face as I was getting major marks in the mornings.