Smartwater

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
m1k2s31984

Smartwater

Post by m1k2s31984 » Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:35 am

I've been using regular distilled water in my humidifier for years but recently tried Smartwater. As I understand it, it's glacier water, vapour distilled. My question is this, has anyone else tried this water in their humidifier? The reason I ask is that the bottle shows "trace amounts" of minerals and electrolytes. I'm no water expert so is it still ok to use in my humidifier. It's a little more expensive than regular distilled water but I find the bottle size is more convenient to store and now, much easier to find in stores.

Hose_Head

Re: Smartwater

Post by Hose_Head » Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:56 am

m1k2s31984 wrote:I've been using regular distilled water in my humidifier for years but recently tried Smartwater. As I understand it, it's glacier water, vapour distilled. My question is this, has anyone else tried this water in their humidifier? The reason I ask is that the bottle shows "trace amounts" of minerals and electrolytes. I'm no water expert so is it still ok to use in my humidifier. It's a little more expensive than regular distilled water but I find the bottle size is more convenient to store and now, much easier to find in stores.
You're wasting your money on it. You can't beat plain-old-regular-distilled-water.

The trace minerals that you note in the "Smartwater" are not desireable and eventually can cause a build-up of scale in your humidifier. I note that you've not provided their definitions of "trace", but this could mean anything from almost undetectable to what are actually quite high concentrations.
I'm workin' on it.

MagicCityDawg

Post by MagicCityDawg » Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:30 am

The trace minerals and electrolytes are added. So, they have distilled water, and then add salts.