CPAP in Europe

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Sergey45

CPAP in Europe

Post by Sergey45 » Sun Mar 28, 2010 1:55 pm

Hi all!
This summer I am going for 10 days trip to Europe (most likely London). I’ve been using Resperonics Rem Star Plus CPAP machine for more than 4 years and I am quite comfortable with it.
Question: For this European trip do I need a different machine compatible with their electric system?
Do I need just an adapter?
Please point me to the device specifically.
Thanks.

JohnBFisher

Re: CPAP in Europe

Post by JohnBFisher » Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:46 pm

Sergey45 wrote:... Question: For this European trip do I need a different machine compatible with their electric system? ... Do I need just an adapter? ... Please point me to the device specifically. ...
You only need a plug adapter. Most xPAP units can handle both 110V and 220V power. That is almost certainly the case with your unit. Do you have an older REMstar Plus CPAP? (IT's the big "tank" type). Or does the unit say "M Series" on it? Or does the unit say "PR System One" on it? Either way, all three should work on 110V or 220V.

You can get plug adapters either from a local store, such as RadioShack. Or you can purchase it online. I purchased a set of plug adapters from Magellans:

http://www.magellans.com/store/Adaptor_ ... g_Adaptors

Hope that helps.

"I wish to paint in such a manner as if I were photographing dreams." from Zdzisław Beksiński

Craig P

Post by Craig P » Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:29 am