Is sleep debt real?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
fidelfs

Is sleep debt real?

Post by fidelfs » Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:06 am

Hi guys,

I have read several postings were the term sleep debt has been mentioned. I want to know if this a real thing or something kind of urban myth.

Just watching TV this morning Thursday 1/14/10 on ABC there is a study about people being sleep deprived and trying to compensate during the weekend with 9 10 hours of sleep. They said it is not like a bank where the balance is what matters. You won't get those hours back even if you sleep all weekend.

I want to hear what member of this forum have to say. My question is because I am a newbie (4 weeks) and the first 2 weeks were great, but then I became more letargic, not sleepy like before, but I cannot wake up early. I keep hitting the snooze button. I have some other conditions that have similar symptoms such as Hypothyroid, hypogonadism and sleep apnea.

I am fully compliant with cpap, 0.5-1.2 AHI, no leaks, etc. so I wonder if this sleep debt is real or my other illnesses are acting up?

Thanks in advance for your comments.

BlackSpinner

Re: Is sleep debt real?

Post by BlackSpinner » Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:58 am

The people in the show were just sleep deprived, OSA patients are both sleep deprived and oxygen deprived for sometimes years.

and the first 2 weeks were great, but then I became more letargic, not sleepy like before, but I cannot wake up early.
The first few weeks on cpap I slept without moving for 8-9 hours each night. I think that this time is being used by our bodies to do repair work caused by the lack of O2 for a long time.

I also feel that because I no longer wake in the morning with the apnea adrenaline pouring through my body I am waking up much more slowly. Like I used when I was much younger. I am back to being the morning bear.