Feeling short of breath while turning over in bed.

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Ruthienyc

Feeling short of breath while turning over in bed.

Post by Ruthienyc » Sun Feb 11, 2024 2:16 pm

I’ve been using a CPap machine now for about 4 1/2 years. For about the past three years, when turning over in bed, I feel short of breath. I open my mouth to exhale once or twice and then I’m fine. This does not happen every time I turn over. This had me very concerned. I have had cardiac tests done and all normal. I came across an article yesterday that says some people have a hard time exhaling with CPAP. It only happens intermittently and with turning over in bed. Has anyone else experienced this? And what was done about it?

ChicagoGranny

Re: Feeling short of breath while turning over in bed.

Post by ChicagoGranny » Sun Feb 11, 2024 5:00 pm

Ruthienyc wrote:
Sun Feb 11, 2024 2:16 pm
It only happens intermittently and with turning over in bed.
Quit turning over in bed.

ChicagoGranny

Post by ChicagoGranny » Sun Feb 11, 2024 5:01 pm

Seriously, if I had a "problem" that minor, I would ignore it and relax.

Janknitz

Post by Janknitz » Mon Feb 12, 2024 6:04 pm

Are you holding your breath? I notice I do when I turn over. I have an elaborate system of pillows, stabilizing the mask, getting everything just so, and I tend to hold my breath in the process. Plus, I'm not in the best of physical shape. But it's transient and nothing I worry about. It's good that your tests all came out OK.
What you need to know before you meet your DME http://tinyurl.com/2arffqx
Taming the Mirage Quattro http://tinyurl.com/2ft3lh8
Swift FX Fitting Guide http://tinyurl.com/22ur9ts
Don't Pay that Upcharge! http://tinyurl.com/2ck48rm

vandownbytheriver

Post by vandownbytheriver » Tue Feb 13, 2024 10:21 pm

Ruthienyc wrote: