It broke!

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
pittnuke

It broke!

Post by pittnuke » Tue Nov 14, 2023 8:57 pm

Hi all,

First off thank you to everyone who reads this post and provides some advice. I appreciate any ideas. So here is/was my problem.

I was originally diagnosed in Sept 2017 and i was happily sleeping along with my Airsense 10 Autoset for almost 6 full years. Then in August my machine "died" and was giving me an error code 004. I have since then gotten a new machine, and have been put on a set pressure of 9.0. Good sleep has returned after almost 2 months.
Now that I have time and a working brain again, i wanted to see about fixing my old CPAP. This is mostly to have a spare in case a similar thing happens to the new one at some point. But additionally I want to have it as my travel cpap, so that i'm not endangering my good machine. This is due to needing this for my job. I work as a control room supervisor at a nuclear plant and use of the machine is a restriction on my license to operate the plant.

1. Can i fix this myself (yes i am technically savy, i was an electronic tech in the US Navy and can solder, troubleshoot, etc). No i would rather not pay almost $400 dollars to fix my machine. not to have it as a backup
2. I understand the calibration may not be correct. I will confirm with OSCAR that i'm being properly control and adjust the spare machine as necessary
3. If i need a new motherboard, has anyone successfully found a place to buy a replacement. The medical industry does not like anyone else in their piece of the pie. I own the machine, its my health, if i want to fix it then let me.

What say you all. Is this a reasonable task? Does anyone have a circuit schematic or part numbers/suppliers?

Again i appreciate you all taking the time to read/respond.

Cheers

Ryan

amenite

Re: It broke!

Post by amenite » Tue Nov 14, 2023 9:26 pm