Constant increasing leakage

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
cpap.newbie

Constant increasing leakage

Post by cpap.newbie » Thu Oct 27, 2022 2:47 pm

I'm new to CPAP therapy and I've been using my CPAP for a little over a month. A few weeks ago, I switched from using an Evora full face mask to the AirTouch F20 full face mask for comfort reasons. However, since using the AirTouch F20 mask, my nightly sleep report has been showing more and more leakage every night. It started at 14L/min, and now it's up to 24L/min. The leak has increased by about 2L/min every night. It is a new mask that I clean daily, so wear and tear is not the problem. I have tried tightening my mask more and tightening the mask as loose as possible. Nothing seems to work. The strangest part to me is that my nightly report also claims that my mask has a good seal, which is also true when I'm awake. Does anyone have any idea why this is happening? My only thought is that my mask is too big, since the respiratory therapist gave me a medium rather than my correct size, which is small. They said that the small sized masks were really small and pinched people's nose, so they gave me the a medium instead. But even if it's a size issue I don't understand why the leak would increase night after night. Any help would be much appreciated!

SleepGeek

Re: Constant increasing leakage

Post by SleepGeek » Thu Oct 27, 2022 3:25 pm

Tell your RT you want to try a small mask. Most suppliers will have an exchange policy.

Could you be mouth breathing? Moving in your sleep is common.

If you have an auto the pressure will increase during your sleep and stretch the straps more.
If you have a Resmed if should have a mask fit setting.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZp4wGPHrUk&t=248s
Happiness is being on Dog Slobber pr & zonkers foe list
CrankyGranny is Whale Road + many other ids
They are here to help.