P10 nasal pillow irritating only one nostril

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
iNeedis

P10 nasal pillow irritating only one nostril

Post by iNeedis » Fri Aug 19, 2022 6:43 pm

Hello all. Recently started using the p10 nasal pillow mask and love it. Sleep amazing with it. Only downfall is my left nostril gets irritated by it and has a red soreness on the inner side of nostril. The right nostril is perfectly fine but only left is bothering me. Is this normal for only one nostril to be irritated?

randye80

Re: P10 nasal pillow irritating only one nostril

Post by randye80 » Fri Aug 19, 2022 7:09 pm

I've been using the P10 mask for about 9 months now. I'm similarly very happy with the therapy.

I often had irritation to my right nostril, fwiw. I have noticed that there is some variability between supposedly identical pillows, i.e. some hurt more than others. It seems to help to gently massage/manipulate the pillow a bit to soften it up.

When it first happened to me, I started rubbing a bit of Carmex on the inside of the nostrils before bed, which did seem to help. Recently I've started using Vicks which also helps keep my air passages clear all night. I have experienced a significant reduction in irritation/pain since using Vicks.

Hope this helps.

zonker

Post by zonker » Fri Aug 19, 2022 7:21 pm

iNeedis wrote:
Fri Aug 19, 2022 6:43 pm
Hello all. Recently started using the p10 nasal pillow mask and love it. Sleep amazing with it. Only downfall is my left nostril gets irritated by it and has a red soreness on the inner side of nostril. The right nostril is perfectly fine but only left is bothering me. Is this normal for only one nostril to be irritated?
don't know if it's normal. if it's happening to you, well, it's happening to you.

i would recommend lansinoh. off of amazon-
https://www.amazon.com/Lansinoh-Lanolin ... 277&sr=8-4