Please help. Machine sometimes cuts out.

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
See-Papa
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 12:26 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Please help. Machine sometimes cuts out.

Post by See-Papa » Tue Sep 21, 2021 7:57 pm

My Philips Dreamstation is sometimes stopping making pressure randomly. There is no air pressure and the motor stops. Screen still shows normal, but pressure cuts out completely. Then it will cut back in. Happens randomly. Last for random amount of time, like a few seconds, or 10 seconds or a few minutes.

This same thing happened to me before and my medical supply house replaced the machine with a refurbished unit. But now it has started again.

My old machine eventually had a message that said maintenance required. That was when I called it in.

But medical supply says they had to send back all of their Dreamstations, and now I have to wait for my new unit to arrive from the recall. I have submitted my recall request. But I don't know when it will arrive.

My problem is that I need my treatment. I sometimes wake up having Apnea now when the motor stops and I hate it. Ruins me.

Can anyone think of a way I can get this machine to stop dropping out?

It was refurbished only a few months ago.

I can see the times in OSCAR when it cuts out. It stops recording data then too. You get the dotted line on the flow graph. It does not register during the times when the motor cuts out.

My therapist checked and said I am not having any leaks that would cause it to shut off. But he can't get me a replacement because of the recall stuff.

User avatar
chunkyfrog
Posts: 31427
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: in a nice, moist bog

Re: Please help. Machine sometimes cuts out.

Post by chunkyfrog » Tue Sep 21, 2021 8:11 pm

You know what you have to do. Those stinkers have left you no choice.
Buy your "travel" machine now--maybe a used one;
or get yourself a Resmed--you know you deserve better than what you got.
Ball is in your court.
Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset FOR HER, p10 mask

User avatar
SleepGeek
Posts: 324
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 2:56 pm

Re: Please help. Machine sometimes cuts out.

Post by SleepGeek » Tue Sep 21, 2021 9:12 pm

See-Papa wrote:
Tue Sep 21, 2021 7:57 pm
Can anyone think of a way I can get this machine to stop dropping out?

It was refurbished only a few months ago.
You may have received it a few months ago my bet is that it is older than that and likely was their loaner.

Who is your insurance? Contact them, they may have some pull with the DME. Often there is a contract agreement for when the device fails. At the very least they should be able to find you a resmed.
Why folks dont like it when you treat em the way they treat you?
If you can be anything why not choose to be kind?
AC VAuto 20/14
palerider aka GrumpyHere wrote: What exactly do you think you're adding to this thread?

D.H.
Posts: 3273
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 7:07 pm

Re: Please help. Machine sometimes cuts out.

Post by D.H. » Wed Sep 22, 2021 7:16 am

There are auto-on/auto-off features in Philips CPAPs (maybe other brands too). I would make sure that "auto-off" is disabled. On the DreamStation2 machines this might have to be done by your DME.

If you have a rehabilitated DreamStation1, you sohuld be able to do this yourself.

See-Papa
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 12:26 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Please help. Machine sometimes cuts out.

Post by See-Papa » Wed Sep 22, 2021 8:25 am

D.H. wrote:
Wed Sep 22, 2021 7:16 am
There are auto-on/auto-off features in Philips CPAPs (maybe other brands too). I would make sure that "auto-off" is disabled. On the DreamStation2 machines this might have to be done by your DME.

If you have a rehabilitated DreamStation1, you sohuld be able to do this yourself.
Therapist checked this and says that auto on/off feature was not enabled.

See-Papa
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 12:26 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Please help. Machine sometimes cuts out.

Post by See-Papa » Wed Sep 22, 2021 8:54 am

SleepGeek wrote:
Tue Sep 21, 2021 9:12 pm
See-Papa wrote:
Tue Sep 21, 2021 7:57 pm
Can anyone think of a way I can get this machine to stop dropping out?

It was refurbished only a few months ago.
You may have received it a few months ago my bet is that it is older than that and likely was their loaner.

Who is your insurance? Contact them, they may have some pull with the DME. Often there is a contract agreement for when the device fails. At the very least they should be able to find you a resmed.
Insurance company helped me register an escalation with Phillips to get the new machine through the recall. Phillips say that they will contact me.

In the mean time the machine is starting to shut off more and more often. I can't get good sleep.

User avatar
chunkyfrog
Posts: 31427
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: in a nice, moist bog

Re: Please help. Machine sometimes cuts out.

Post by chunkyfrog » Wed Sep 22, 2021 9:00 am

Change brands.
Change DMEs.
You can wait to upgrade your phone, car, etc.
Sleep is 1,000 times more important.
Your life depends on it.
Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset FOR HER, p10 mask

User avatar
Pugsy
Posts: 59498
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: Please help. Machine sometimes cuts out.

Post by Pugsy » Wed Sep 22, 2021 9:13 am

About all you can check and maybe do anything about are the power connections either at the power brick or where the machine itself plugs into the power supply.
Look for potential loose connections.

Are you using any sort of extension cord or surge plug in thing as well?

Look at anything that might be power related that you have control over....wall outlet...power brick and cords...connections at the back of the machine...anything loose????

Are you in a position where you could pay out of pocket for a machine?
Mask: Bleep no headgear mask.. https://bleepsleep.com/
Machine: AirCurve 10 VAuto

I may have to RISE but I refuse to SHINE.

djconner
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 18, 2021 9:02 am

Re: Please help. Machine sometimes cuts out.

Post by djconner » Thu Sep 23, 2021 7:30 am

Pugsy wrote:
Wed Sep 22, 2021 9:13 am
About all you can check and maybe do anything about are the power connections either at the power brick or where the machine itself plugs into the power supply.
Look for potential loose connections.
I've been having a similar problem with my ResMed machine over the past week: leak data off the charts, and I was awake reading in bed a couple times when air pressure just stopped and restarted a few seconds later.

I just now checked the connections, and found that the plug connection to the wall was loose. I hope that was the problem, and it's a good reminder to always check the simple stuff (even if you're pretty sure it doesn't apply)!

User avatar
chunkyfrog
Posts: 31427
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: in a nice, moist bog

Re: Please help. Machine sometimes cuts out.

Post by chunkyfrog » Thu Sep 23, 2021 8:18 am

You probably got stuck with an ancient POS that should have been scrapped.
Get rid of that rotten DME; and get away from respironics machines.
You know you deserve better.
Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset FOR HER, p10 mask

See-Papa
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 12:26 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Please help. Machine sometimes cuts out.

Post by See-Papa » Thu Sep 23, 2021 8:41 am

Pugsy wrote:
Wed Sep 22, 2021 9:13 am
About all you can check and maybe do anything about are the power connections either at the power brick or where the machine itself plugs into the power supply.
Look for potential loose connections.

Are you using any sort of extension cord or surge plug in thing as well?

Look at anything that might be power related that you have control over....wall outlet...power brick and cords...connections at the back of the machine...anything loose????

Are you in a position where you could pay out of pocket for a machine?

******************************************** Thank you Pugsy **********************************************************
This worked!

The machine had been plugged into an old power strip under the bed. I plugged the power brick directly into the wall. No cut outs last night!

And 0 AHI

I can see in Oscar that the flow line has no dropouts like it used to. The machine ran with pressure and collected data all night long continuously.

Incredible!! Nobody else thought of this. Not the doctors, therapist, insurance or even Phillips.

I was ready to buy a new machine too. My doc sent in the paper work so I could buy my own machine too. But now, I am thinking maybe I am good!?!?

See-Papa
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 12:26 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Please help. Machine sometimes cuts out.

Post by See-Papa » Thu Sep 23, 2021 8:43 am

djconner wrote:
Thu Sep 23, 2021 7:30 am
Pugsy wrote:
Wed Sep 22, 2021 9:13 am
About all you can check and maybe do anything about are the power connections either at the power brick or where the machine itself plugs into the power supply.
Look for potential loose connections.
I've been having a similar problem with my ResMed machine over the past week: leak data off the charts, and I was awake reading in bed a couple times when air pressure just stopped and restarted a few seconds later.

I just now checked the connections, and found that the plug connection to the wall was loose. I hope that was the problem, and it's a good reminder to always check the simple stuff (even if you're pretty sure it doesn't apply)!
Great find!

For me, the plug was not loose, but the use of that old power strip in between the machine and the wall seemed to be the problem.

User avatar
Pugsy
Posts: 59498
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: Please help. Machine sometimes cuts out.

Post by Pugsy » Thu Sep 23, 2021 9:15 am

See-Papa wrote:
Thu Sep 23, 2021 8:41 am

The machine had been plugged into an old power strip under the bed. I plugged the power brick directly into the wall. No cut outs last night!
Incredible!! Nobody else thought of this. Not the doctors, therapist, insurance or even Phillips.
:D Who gets the bill for my technical assistance??

Glad it was a simple fix. It was my only idea. :lol:
See-Papa wrote:
Thu Sep 23, 2021 8:41 am
I was ready to buy a new machine too. My doc sent in the paper work so I could buy my own machine too. But now, I am thinking maybe I am good!?!?
Probably good from the power problem aspect but maybe not so good from the recall aspect.
Chances are high that your "refurbished" machine is still part of the recall thing depending on when it was "refurbished" and exactly what was done during the time it was at the factory.

This has to be your call though.

But at least the power problem has been sorted out. People often don't think of the power strip/surge protector strip as being a potential problem but obviously they can fail. I just replaced the surge protector I use in the living room where I have my computers and electronics (like phone) plugged in for charging, etc because it got sick and was only delivering power intermittently and it wasn't all that old. I was also initially blaming my devices for not holding a charge until the light bulb went off that it was extremely unlikely that all devices would have a charging problem at the same time.
Mask: Bleep no headgear mask.. https://bleepsleep.com/
Machine: AirCurve 10 VAuto

I may have to RISE but I refuse to SHINE.

User avatar
klm49
Posts: 426
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 4:24 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Please help. Machine sometimes cuts out.

Post by klm49 » Thu Sep 23, 2021 11:26 am

See-Papa wrote:
Thu Sep 23, 2021 8:43 am
djconner wrote:
Thu Sep 23, 2021 7:30 am
Pugsy wrote:
Wed Sep 22, 2021 9:13 am
About all you can check and maybe do anything about are the power connections either at the power brick or where the machine itself plugs into the power supply.
Look for potential loose connections.
I've been having a similar problem with my ResMed machine over the past week: leak data off the charts, and I was awake reading in bed a couple times when air pressure just stopped and restarted a few seconds later.

I just now checked the connections, and found that the plug connection to the wall was loose. I hope that was the problem, and it's a good reminder to always check the simple stuff (even if you're pretty sure it doesn't apply)!
Great find!

For me, the plug was not loose, but the use of that old power strip in between the machine and the wall seemed to be the problem.

I have 2 power supplies for the Dream Station if you are interested. 1 is about 18 mos. old and the other is brand new except for the one time I tried it to confirm my machine had died. I no longer have a Dream Station as I was switched to Bipap when my machine died.
Resmed AirCurve10 Vauto w/humidifier
Amara View mask
O2 - 2-4 lpm