Do Any of You Have More Than One Machine?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
boxofrain

Do Any of You Have More Than One Machine?

Post by boxofrain » Tue Sep 08, 2020 6:46 am

Hello All, I am fairly new to CPAP but have been immersing myself into this world. I REALLY appreciate this board. I was diagnosed with moderate apnea at an AHI of 27.4 and a lot of desaturations. When I first began my CPAP journey, my AHIs with my Philips Dreamstation APAP were consistently in the teens. I was very frustrated that i could not do better. But with some good tweaking of the pressures, using a nasal cushion and wearing a scc, I have now been averaging in the very low single digits. The last two nights AHI have been between 1-2. I am feeling better every day BUT my strong personality is that I can always do better. My question is someone in my area is selling a Resmed Aircurve 10 ASV machine that is only four months old. I think I can pick this up for $300-400 where it would cost over $2000 new. I am seriously considering this due to the advantages of the ASV. I could use it a few nights a month and begin tweaking the settings and see how I feel until my current machine is "paid for." Even if I find I do not need it I am pretty confident I could always sell it. Spending the $300-400 will not affect my retirement LOL. What do you all think? Thanks so much!

Julie

Re: Do Any of You Have More Than One Machine?

Post by Julie » Tue Sep 08, 2020 7:04 am

A lot, if not most, of us have back-up machines, usually older ones with a limited number of run hrs on them, maybe not even Apaps (vs C's), but what you're talking about is something else... or is money burning a hole in your pocket? :D

You know, you can get all kinds of machines, etc. on Amazon, or through Secondwindcpap.com, or or or... if you want to.

boxofrain

Post by boxofrain » Tue Sep 08, 2020 7:07 am