Please forgive me, but i'm a concerned newbie with Contec cms50d

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Erratic_Sleep

Please forgive me, but i'm a concerned newbie with Contec cms50d

Post by Erratic_Sleep » Mon Jun 29, 2020 1:12 am

I'm having a terrible time with sleep of late and suffering fatigue, and after having already scored low on a finger pulse oximiter that a friend had (during the day), i decided to buy a Contec CMS50d. The choice of the Contec was to record night time sleep levels.

Should i take this to a GP? I'm just as worried about being a hyperchondirac as i am about being ill, if that makes any sense. :oops:

I'd say this example is quite typical (though not sure how long it took for me to fall asleep), where the base sp02 is about 92%, and low point is usually 85%.

I'd say my daytime around-the-house average, watching tv and stuff, is just below 95%, recording just more than 5 desaturations per hour.
marv 4.PNG
marv 4.PNG (182.86 KiB) Viewed 11407 times

Julie

Re: Please forgive me, but i'm a concerned newbie with Contec cms50d

Post by Julie » Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:36 am

Hi, low 02 is only part of the info needed to diagnose sleep apnea. Don't worry about hypochondria though, as it only will make you anxious and skew results of any testing. Why not get a referral for a proper sleep study and then come back to this thread with results, but also ask for lab work that would cover e.g. thyroid, sugar, other conditions that could affect how you feel and sleep. Btw, results from awake/daytime don't count as far as apnea is concerned because your breathing patterns as tested in a proper study would not be valid as they're always different from asleep ones.

Erratic_Sleep

Post by Erratic_Sleep » Mon Jun 29, 2020 9:18 am