Newbie seeking opinions on AirMini vs. DreamStation Go

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
HickorySmoke

Newbie seeking opinions on AirMini vs. DreamStation Go

Post by HickorySmoke » Mon Nov 25, 2019 2:20 pm

Hello all, I'm new to the CPAP life (about 30 days now) and this board has been really helpful for adjusting to my new sleeping conditions. Now on to the purpose of my message:

I recently purchased the AirMini and am using it with the Airtouch F20 (which is my usual mask I use). I have used it over four nights and have found that I have gradually gotten used to the venting noise. I do, however wear earplugs when I sleep.

I've read through as many posts as I could find on travel CPAPs on here and like most that have used the AirMini I love the portability but don't like (1) the noise from the hose/mask/machine/whatever (2) the lack of a humidifier (there isn't one for the F20) and (3) the proprietary hose (and the fact it isn't heated). The last two are nice to haves...they aren't necessarily deal breakers. The noise is what concerns me as I have not tried this out with my girlfriend yet and she is pretty sensitive to noise despite wearing earplugs too.

What I haven't been able to find many opinions on is the Philips DreamStation Go. I've tried to read as many reviews as I could find on it but I can't get a warm fuzzy feeling that it will be any quieter as several reviews complain about the noise as well. Has anyone switched from the AirMini to the Dreamstation Go? What is your opinion on the change/difference in noise? If the Go has noise, where is it coming from...the motor, the mask, the hose? How does the noise compare to the Airmini?

I purchased the AirMini from another website that has a 30 day return policy and the Go just went on sale at CPAP.com so if I'm going to make a change I need to do it soon.

Any input/opinions would be greatly appreciated!

Pugsy

Re: Newbie seeking opinions on AirMini vs. DreamStation Go