Switched to ASV

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
KatieW

Switched to ASV

Post by KatieW » Sat Aug 31, 2019 8:10 pm

Hello everyone. I have been using CPAP since 2008, very successfully, and was quite active on this forum for a few years, then faded away around 2012.

Recently, I had an episode of food poisoning which led to a visit to Urgent Care; dehydration pushed me into Atrial Fib, and then the IV fluids led to Acute Pulmonary Edema. Close call, but I am fine now.
Part of the treatment was a Bi-PAP Machine, set at 10 inhale, 5 exhale, and a full face mask, which I used several hours during the day, and during sleep. I went from 15 liters of oxygen to 2 liters, at discharge after 6 days in hospital. I have now been home 2 weeks, and am recovering well. Am down to 1.5 liters of oxygen, which I also bleed into my CPAP at night. I still have fluid in my lungs, which is slowly dissipating with diuretics. And am being monitored by a cardiologist (who claims no knowledge of CPAP and will refer to a Pulmonologist).

Currently using ResMed Air Sense for Her, which I love, set on APAP 9-13, EPR 3. I have always been my own respiratory therapist, and my AHI is .5, with maybe .1 Obstructive Apnea, no Centrals, most nights. I currently use the Philips Respironics Pico Nasal Mask.

A friend has given me a barely used DreamStation Auto BiPAP, with Humidifier. Searching on-line, I have located the User Manual and Clinical Manual, and am washing and drying the parts of the machine. And I have ordered a heated hose and new filters. Meanwhile I am researching what would be the best settings. 9-13 works well for me, but even EPR 3 is difficult for me right now, (difficult to exhale and accumulation of gas) so I am thinking the the Bi-Pap would make it easier to exhale. Should I stay at 9-13, with an EPAP of 5?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you.
Katie