CPAP noise advice needed - newbie

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
ptero5

CPAP noise advice needed - newbie

Post by ptero5 » Wed May 15, 2019 11:47 pm

Hi there

I'm a newbie to CPAP. Recently diagnosed with severe obstructive sleep apnoea with an AHI of 47.0/hr and RDI 59.7/hr. I'm doing a 1 month trial. The machine I've been given is a Resmed Airsense 10 autoset. The mask I am trying out is the Resmed Airfit N30i. I'm generally a side sleeper but finding that I have to sleep on my back to get to sleep with this.

So far I am getting good results and feeling difference in head fogginess. My biggest problem is getting to sleep both at the start of the night, or back to sleep when I have to get up during the night. The noise really bugs me. How much of that is the machine versus the mask? I am conscious that there is air venting from both the top of my head and nose and I tend to breath more deeply when I am trying to get to sleep.

Any tips, thoughts, including other products I could try, would be awesome.

Pugsy

Re: CPAP noise advice needed - newbie

Post by Pugsy » Thu May 16, 2019 7:04 am

Welcome to the forum.
ptero5 wrote:
Wed May 15, 2019 11:47 pm
The noise really bugs me. How much of that is the machine versus the mask?
In all honesty I can't hear what you are hearing to be able to tell you where the noise is coming from.
In general though ResMed machines have minimal noise issues unless the person has a lemon.
Are you hearing the motor or is it more of the Darth Vadar breathing noise that you are hearing?

Here's a little test you can try to help determined where the nose is coming from.
Plug your ears with your finger tips and see if the noise level reduces, stays the same or increases.