Help me pick a new (lighter) machine

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
RichInBunlyGoodness

Help me pick a new (lighter) machine

Post by RichInBunlyGoodness » Wed Jan 09, 2019 2:38 pm

I've been using a Resmed S9 with humidifier for 5 years. It works fairly well for me. At home, I used it with the heated hose and humidifier. After the initial adjustment period, this has helped my sleep improve significantly. I recently broke the humidity chamber and can only use it without the humidity chamber and that means I can't use the heated hose.

The only caveat is that I like to go backpacking, and I like to keep my weight down. My lightest option weighs 2245 grams (about 5 lbs) and gets me three nights. The weight is as follows:

Grams
502 TalentCell YB12011000-USB Battery (Has 12V, 9V & USB output)
857 Resmed S9 Main unit
795 DC Converter
111 Hose + Mask

I also have a heavier battery that gets me 6 nights. That works for a kayak trip, but is too heavy for backpacking.

Since I just hit 5 years with the Resmed S9, my insurance will mostly cover a new unit. I don't know if it will pay for any machine I want, but I assume I can get something that will be lighter. I can sleep OK without the humidifier, esp in spring and fall. In winter, I experienced some rainout issues if I keep the temp as low as I would prefer in the bedroom, so my dumb temporary solution is to use an electric heater near my cpap to warm the air enough that it doesn't condense.

Looking at the cpap.com website, I notice they have the Resmed Airmini that weighs 0.66 pounds, so that would shave ~550 grams from the Resmed S9 Main Unit. What about DC converter for this unit? There ought to be some huge weight savings there as well if I can dump that brick. I'm not sure what the HumidX system is, but I'm willing to sacrifice some humidity on the home use system if that buys me lighter weight when I go mobile.