Major Mask Leaks and Impact on AHI

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
kismet1

Major Mask Leaks and Impact on AHI

Post by kismet1 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 8:19 am

I have been using my CPAP machine for 2 months and have consistently had AHI numbers below 1.0. However, I have been getting major leaks showing on Sleepy Head that have gone as high as 24% while my AHI numbers have remained low. Should I be concerned about the leaks if my AHI numbers remain low? Do major leaks prevent the machine from detecting AHIs - are my low AHI numbers erroneous because of the high number of majoy leaks? Also my leaks seem to be intermittent - have major leaks during a period of an hour or so and then the leaks disappear for the rest of the night. Is this a sign of mouth breathing?

Thanks!
CPAP: Resmed AirSense 10 for Her
Autoset
Minimum pressure 6 cmH2O
Maximum pressure 20 cmH2O
Humidifier setting at 7
Pressure range 6.0 - 12.5 cmH2O
Avg Pressure 9.07 cmH2O

Mask: Resmed AirFit N20 Nasal Mask

Pugsy

Re: Major Mask Leaks and Impact on AHI

Post by Pugsy » Mon Aug 07, 2017 8:40 am

kismet1 wrote:n Sleepy Head that have gone as high as 24% while my AHI numbers have remained low.
First of all where are you getting the 24 number....is it the time over red line % in the statistics or is it the 95% number column in the statistics?

When you say "as high as" I am thinking that you are talking about the 95% number and not the threshold % number.
The 95% number isn't a % number it's a L/min number and if the worst it ever is happens to be 24 L/min then you DON'T have leak issues enough to impact the AHI.
First you have to understand the definition of a 95% number...it means at OR BELOW that number for 95% of the night. It is not an overall average and it is not where you spent 95% of the night. The "OR BELOW" part of the definition is very important.