Changing mask type for the first time in 7 years. Suggestion

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
lebowski8

Changing mask type for the first time in 7 years. Suggestion

Post by lebowski8 » Mon Feb 27, 2017 11:51 pm

So I've been using a full face mask for 7 years. However during my first year of therapy, I used the Swift FX. After a few months of therapy, I realized I was mouth breathing. I tried chin straps and tape. The I went to the full face mask. Never looked back.

I've used various full face RESMED masks, the Quattro Mirage. Now the Quattro FX. It's been great. My numbers are good, etc.

But a lot has changed in 7 years. I weigh about 60 pounds less than the old days, and my BP is under control.

So here's the deal: I hate traveling with the full face mask!! I can't wait until the Micro-CPAP Airing device comes to market!

Whether by air or by car, there's always risk of the mask being crushed (it's happened twice), or dropped and cracking on a non-carpeted floor (once). I put it in a sturdy rubbermaid container, but even then, the worst has happened. Now, both times, clear packing tape fixed it until I got home and could order a replacement. And the thing is bulky, taking up quite a bit of room in baggage, whether checked, carry-on, or just in the trunk of the car.

I'm going to Ecuador in April, for about a month. i checked MercadoLibre, and cpap masks are available-- and pricey, but in the worst case...). From personal experience, shipping and getting anything through customs is expensive and slow. could be 10 days after ordering a replacement from the USA!

What nasal masks can you recommend where crushing/breaking/snapping isn't as much of a concern?

I figure I'd order one now, test it for a month, see how the numbers are, and if it works, travel with the new mask

Thanks in advance!
Hoser since April 2009.
Feb 2009: AHI 45.8 | BP 142/97 | SpO2: 78.9%
2016: AHI 0.9 | BP 122/81 | SpO2: 96.5%