NEWLY diagnosed OSA decisions: CPAP vs Oral device

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
SleepyFireman702

NEWLY diagnosed OSA decisions: CPAP vs Oral device

Post by SleepyFireman702 » Thu Sep 24, 2015 5:32 pm

Ok so I am new to this, haven't even started treatment yet just in the decision making stage trying to decide between CPAP or an oral device.
My diagnosis is moderate OSA with an AHI of 16.6
My concerns regarding CPAP are noise and portability first, then comfort a close second.
I am a firefighter and live in a fire station for approximately 40% of each month. My station is 175 miles from where I live so either I would need two devices, one portable (if there is such a thing) and one set at home by my bed. Noise in the station would be a big concern because there are typically 2 to 3 crew members sleeping in my same dorm. Ease of use, getting it on and off when a call comes in is another big concern.
Suggestions and input
If anyone has used both CPAP and an oral device (not necessarily concurrently) and can weigh in on benefits for or against either, with my particular circumstances in mind, I would greatly appreciate hearing from you.
Thanks

ChicagoGranny

Re: NEWLY diagnosed OSA decisions: CPAP vs Oral device

Post by ChicagoGranny » Thu Sep 24, 2015 5:39 pm

This is a CPAP forum. Buy two CPAP machines. Forget the oral appliance. CPAP is the gold standard. Oral appliances are for losers who can't educate themselves and learn to use CPAP properly.

What noise are you talking about? CPAP machines don't make any noise.

All CPAP machines are portable.

Do you have a locker at your workplace where you can safely store a CPAP when you are away? If not, CPAPs are pretty easy to travel with.
SleepyFireman702 wrote:My diagnosis is moderate OSA with an AHI of 16.6
How old are you? Why did you have a sleep study in the first place?
"It's not the number of breaths we take, it's the number of moments that take our breath away."