Traded One Problem For Another

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Laurora

Traded One Problem For Another

Post by Laurora » Fri Jan 16, 2015 7:59 am

Another newbie here! I've gotten a ton of helpful tips from the forums, and really appreciate it. My first few nights using my machine I woke up about every 45 minutes, and only lasted about 5 hours using the mask. My pressure ranges from 10-15, and the best I can figure is that the increased pressure would move my mask and startle me awake. Last night I did away with the ramp and adjusted my mask with the pressure at 10. My mask was looser than it had been, since I had read that the mask should "float" on your face. I also used an old t-shirt to make a mask liner. It felt much better and I only woke up about 3 times, and I lasted 6.5 hours with the mask on, and best of all, didn't feel as miserably exhausted as I had the first few nights I used it.

The only problem is that now I have a huge red mark on the bridge of my nose. How on earth is that possible if the mask is looser than it has been, AND I used a liner? I thought for sure I had figured out the magic formula, so this is pretty discouraging. In the past if I had a mark, it disappeared pretty quickly, but it's been 4 hours since I removed the mask, and the mark remains. I like my mask, although the thick part of the headgear (at the base of my neck) is uncomfortable. Any tips or general commiseration?

Jay Aitchsee

Re: Traded One Problem For Another

Post by Jay Aitchsee » Fri Jan 16, 2015 8:17 am

Welcome Laurora!
Actually, it sounds as if you're off to a good start using the mask longer each night. It does take some time to get used to.