Newbie here looking forward to feeling better with CPAP

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Scooter32

Newbie here looking forward to feeling better with CPAP

Post by Scooter32 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:19 pm

Just figure I'd make a quick introduction here. Nicknames Scooter and I just been recently diagnosed with moderate Sleep apnea. For many years I have always complained to my doctor about being tired and having very little energy coupled with just general muscle aches and feeling like garbage. Having moved around a bunch I went through several doctors but my current doctor was the first to suggest sleep issues that could be the cause. Had my first sleep study about a week ago and actually got just shy of 6 hours of sleep during it and found to have Moderate Sleep apnea according to the tech. Supposedly I had an apnea or reduced airflow event 146 times in that to average 26/hr. She also said I had moderate oxygen desaturation and mild to harsh continuous snoring. I was able to get my second sleep study with CPAP the other night and didn't yet get the results. I didn't sleep nearly as well since I woke up and wasn't able to get back for several hours. Sleep tech actually let me sleep in till 7:30 AM to get more of a test in.

Think I tolerated CPAP pretty well as I chose a full face mask since I constantly have sinus congestion and thought that's what I'd be using at home. Must say it feels weird the first time but I think I got used to it quick. Must say even though I got maybe half my normal amount of sleep, I felt twice as rested after and actually good that next day. Too early I am sure but atleast it seems like something positive to look forward to after hearing a bunch of negatives. Still waiting for my prescription then picking out equipment and such but just wanted to say hello.

purple

Re: Newbie here looking forward to feeling better with CPAP

Post by purple » Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:35 pm