Fifth night. Heated hose needed?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Willis

Fifth night. Heated hose needed?

Post by Willis » Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:37 am

I'm still very new to all this. I went from a large mask to medium mask last night and everything was good. A better fit around my eyes with no leaks. I slept straight through for four hours. I took the mask off to use the bathroom, came back and put the mask on and now have cold air pressure blowing in my face. I just couldn't relax and sleep with the cold pressure. I changed to the larger mask thinking that would cure the cold...no luck. I moved the machine on the floor thinking maybe condensation was inside the hose. That didn't help. I changed back to the comfortable medium mask...still cold wind. I tossed and turned thinking I could fall asleep with the colder wind and just try and "Get over it and sleep!" I couldn't sleep. I was going to take the mask off and try and sleep without it but I'm determined to make this work. I finally got up at 4:30with only four hours of sleep. Strangely...I feel good today????? Anyways, should I purchase a heated hose. I use three ace bandages around the hose that seemed to work for the last three nights. As always thank you for the support. I had the humidifier at 2 if that helps?

rested gal

Re: Fifth night. Heated hose needed?

Post by rested gal » Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:34 am

Until others jump in to give their suggestions, here's a link to tons of old posts that might give you some ideas. Me..., yeah, I'd go straight for a heated hose. Been using a stand-alone heated hose for years. Love it. Besides preventing rainout (which isn't a problem you're having) it does keep the air that goes through the hose a little warmer, which is what you want.

LINKS to discussions about the Aussie heated hose, Repti heat cable, and other ways to deal with "rainout."
viewtopic.php?t=5305
ResMed S9 VPAP Auto (ASV)
Humidifier: Integrated + Climate Control hose