Resmed AirSense 10 AutoSet - Does AutoSet really work?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
User avatar
shimon
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:58 pm
Location: Skagit County, WA

Resmed AirSense 10 AutoSet - Does AutoSet really work?

Post by shimon » Sun Nov 20, 2022 3:48 pm

Looking to replace my Philips with a Resmed AirSense 10 AutoSet and I've been reading about the AutoSet feature where it automatically sets the pressure. Does this mean you don't enter your prescription pressure and it just sets what it thinks you need? Or do you still enter your pressure range and it just auto sets the correct pressure within your prescription range? If it's the first explanation where it sets pressure without your prescription range...how well does it work?

jsmit86
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:43 pm
Location: Conroe, TX (Suburban Houston TX)

Re: Resmed AirSense 10 AutoSet - Does AutoSet really work?

Post by jsmit86 » Sun Nov 20, 2022 3:56 pm

You still should have your prescription loaded into the machine. This is entered for both the low and high value. Example - Min 8, Max 12.
Some people will suggest setting the max to 20, and let the machine consider how high to go. I did that after posting OSCAR graphs here. It was suggested to raise my min to 10, and set the max to 20. That improved my sleep and AHI scores.

_________________
Machine: AirSense 11 Autoset
Mask: AirTouch™ F20 Full Face CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: also AirFit F20 mask. For travel HDM Z2 Auto CPAP, using AirFit or AirTouch F20 mask. Former Airsense 10 Autoset
Resmed Airsense 11 Autoset - Former Airsense 10 Autoset
Resmed Airtouch F20 Foam Mask
Travel unit HDM Z2 Auto

User avatar
shimon
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:58 pm
Location: Skagit County, WA

Re: Resmed AirSense 10 AutoSet - Does AutoSet really work?

Post by shimon » Sun Nov 20, 2022 3:58 pm

jsmit86 wrote:
Sun Nov 20, 2022 3:56 pm
You still should have your prescription loaded into the machine. This is entered for both the low and high value. Example - Min 8, Max 12.
Some people will suggest setting the max to 20, and let the machine consider how high to go. I did that after posting OSCAR graphs here. It was suggested to raise my min to 10, and set the max to 20. That improved my sleep and AHI scores.
Thanks for the reply.

So do you find that AutoSet actually works well? You're happy with the feature?

jsmit86
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:43 pm
Location: Conroe, TX (Suburban Houston TX)

Re: Resmed AirSense 10 AutoSet - Does AutoSet really work?

Post by jsmit86 » Sun Nov 20, 2022 4:24 pm

shimon wrote:
Sun Nov 20, 2022 3:58 pm
jsmit86 wrote:
Sun Nov 20, 2022 3:56 pm
You still should have your prescription loaded into the machine. This is entered for both the low and high value. Example - Min 8, Max 12.
Some people will suggest setting the max to 20, and let the machine consider how high to go. I did that after posting OSCAR graphs here. It was suggested to raise my min to 10, and set the max to 20. That improved my sleep and AHI scores.
Thanks for the reply.

So do you find that AutoSet actually works well? You're happy with the feature?
Yes. Most of the time my pressures average around 11, but I can see that the system makes adjustments.

_________________
Machine: AirSense 11 Autoset
Mask: AirTouch™ F20 Full Face CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: also AirFit F20 mask. For travel HDM Z2 Auto CPAP, using AirFit or AirTouch F20 mask. Former Airsense 10 Autoset
Resmed Airsense 11 Autoset - Former Airsense 10 Autoset
Resmed Airtouch F20 Foam Mask
Travel unit HDM Z2 Auto

User avatar
lazarus
Posts: 573
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2022 3:21 pm
Location: NY State

Re: Resmed AirSense 10 AutoSet - Does AutoSet really work?

Post by lazarus » Sun Nov 20, 2022 4:33 pm

AutoSet is well established and verified as a successful implementation of APAP principles. It works well for the vast majority, although there are rare contraindications (such as lack of snoring from prior UPPP) for APAP use and some patients who do better with CPAP mode. Fortunately every APAP can also be run in CPAP mode.

Many on this forum, including me, find that APAP works best for us when the minimum is set within one or two cmH2O of the pressure that will dependably prevent apneas. That often works better than an APAP used long-term set wide open (4-20).

The beauty of APAP is especially helpful for those whose pressure needs vary throughout the night (such as different pressures needed in certain sleeping positions and in certain stages of sleep) or vary night-to-night (such as more pressure needed during allergy season).

I personally consider AutoSet amazing, and I do well using it, but I also have heard of some who feel more comfortable and respond better on other brands of APAP.
AS10/P30i

Just think of the positive influence you have when you show courtesy, kindness, and tolerance during Internet discussions.

User avatar
shimon
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:58 pm
Location: Skagit County, WA

Re: Resmed AirSense 10 AutoSet - Does AutoSet really work?

Post by shimon » Sun Nov 20, 2022 5:05 pm

Thanks to both of you for your responses. I appreciate your input.

User avatar
lazarus
Posts: 573
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2022 3:21 pm
Location: NY State

Re: Resmed AirSense 10 AutoSet - Does AutoSet really work?

Post by lazarus » Sun Nov 20, 2022 5:19 pm

Glad to be of any service. I wish you well with your treatment.
AS10/P30i

Just think of the positive influence you have when you show courtesy, kindness, and tolerance during Internet discussions.

User avatar
palerider
Posts: 31383
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 5:43 pm
Location: Dallas(ish).

Re: Resmed AirSense 10 AutoSet - Does AutoSet really work?

Post by palerider » Sun Nov 20, 2022 6:48 pm

shimon wrote:
Sun Nov 20, 2022 3:48 pm
Looking to replace my Philips with a Resmed AirSense 10 AutoSet and I've been reading about the AutoSet feature where it automatically sets the pressure. Does this mean you don't enter your prescription pressure and it just sets what it thinks you need? Or do you still enter your pressure range and it just auto sets the correct pressure within your prescription range? If it's the first explanation where it sets pressure without your prescription range...how well does it work?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4GW97Xk06N8

_________________
Mask: Bleep DreamPort CPAP Mask Solution
Additional Comments: S9 VPAP Auto
Get OSCAR and come chat on IRC: #cpaptalk on irc.libera.chat

Accounts to put on the foe list: dataq1, clownbell, gearchange, mper!?, DreamDiver, Geer1, almostadoctor, sleepgeek, ajack, stom, mogy, D.H., They often post misleading, timewasting stuff.