Airsense 10 suddenly shut down

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
tisket
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:03 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Airsense 10 suddenly shut down

Post by tisket » Wed Aug 03, 2022 4:14 pm

Set up the APC surge suppressor.

The OSCAR graphs from last Friday: pressure restarted at 7.8. Oddly the panel on the left which says "Ramp Pressure 8.0" is wrong.



Image
---------------------------------------------------
ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset, Aloha nasal pillow mask using HoseBuddy for overhead hose management, Nexcare paper tape for mouth

User avatar
Pugsy
Posts: 61649
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: Airsense 10 suddenly shut down

Post by Pugsy » Wed Aug 03, 2022 4:24 pm

Did you change the pressure at any time yesterday or this morning on the machine?
What it shows in the graphs just doesn't go with the settings unless you change something in the settings at some point.

Autoramp engaged...but set to 8.0.

Where is the 7.8 coming from?
Mask: Bleep no headgear mask.. https://bleepsleep.com/
Machine: AirCurve 10 VAuto

I may have to RISE but I refuse to SHINE.

tisket
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:03 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Airsense 10 suddenly shut down

Post by tisket » Wed Aug 03, 2022 4:34 pm

Pugsy wrote:
Wed Aug 03, 2022 4:24 pm
Did you change the pressure at any time yesterday or this morning on the machine?
No, I haven't touched it since I set it up last week.
What it shows in the graphs just doesn't go with the settings unless you change something in the settings at some point.

Autoramp engaged...but set to 8.0.

Where is the 7.8 coming from?
I set it to 7.8 as suggested by Dog Slobber earlier in the thread. I did it on my old machine before I sent it back, then did it on the new machine when setting it up.

Image
---------------------------------------------------
ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset, Aloha nasal pillow mask using HoseBuddy for overhead hose management, Nexcare paper tape for mouth

User avatar
Pugsy
Posts: 61649
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: Airsense 10 suddenly shut down

Post by Pugsy » Wed Aug 03, 2022 5:13 pm

Okay. That likely explains it.
Probably was set to 8.0 and then you changed it to 7.8 but on the statistics side OSCAR couldn't decide what to report as minimum setting so it just showed the first setting before the change.

When there are 2 different pressure settings within a 24 hour period OSCAR doesn't always report the last setting.
Mask: Bleep no headgear mask.. https://bleepsleep.com/
Machine: AirCurve 10 VAuto

I may have to RISE but I refuse to SHINE.

tisket
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:03 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Airsense 10 suddenly shut down

Post by tisket » Wed Aug 03, 2022 5:17 pm

Well I set it up 9 days ago and haven't changed it since. Doesn't matter, I am not sure why Dog Slobber wanted me to do that, something about detecting a power cycle.
---------------------------------------------------
ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset, Aloha nasal pillow mask using HoseBuddy for overhead hose management, Nexcare paper tape for mouth

User avatar
Pugsy
Posts: 61649
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: Airsense 10 suddenly shut down

Post by Pugsy » Wed Aug 03, 2022 5:28 pm

9 days ago???

Just doesn't make sense then.

You see the settings that OSCAR shows...8 to 20. I don't understand why it doesn't say 7.8 to 20.

Plus it says autoramp is on and set to start at 8.

You got aliens living with you or something? :lol: :lol:
Mask: Bleep no headgear mask.. https://bleepsleep.com/
Machine: AirCurve 10 VAuto

I may have to RISE but I refuse to SHINE.

tisket
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:03 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Airsense 10 suddenly shut down

Post by tisket » Wed Aug 03, 2022 5:38 pm

I know little about Oscar. My settings are minimum 8, max 20, start pressure 7.8 and auto ramp. That was Dog Slobber's suggestion I believe.
---------------------------------------------------
ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset, Aloha nasal pillow mask using HoseBuddy for overhead hose management, Nexcare paper tape for mouth

User avatar
Pugsy
Posts: 61649
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: Airsense 10 suddenly shut down

Post by Pugsy » Wed Aug 03, 2022 5:46 pm

Okay. Never mind. I was looking at the 7.8 wrong on the screen shot. I thought it was 7.8 for minimum and instead it is 7.8 for the autoramp.

Bad night last night. 3 hours of sleep. I can't see straight.
Mask: Bleep no headgear mask.. https://bleepsleep.com/
Machine: AirCurve 10 VAuto

I may have to RISE but I refuse to SHINE.

tisket
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:03 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Airsense 10 suddenly shut down

Post by tisket » Wed Aug 03, 2022 5:55 pm

I think you're seeing straight. It says Ramp Pressure 8, and it should say 7.8 I believe.
---------------------------------------------------
ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset, Aloha nasal pillow mask using HoseBuddy for overhead hose management, Nexcare paper tape for mouth

User avatar
Dog Slobber
Posts: 3360
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Airsense 10 suddenly shut down

Post by Dog Slobber » Wed Aug 03, 2022 6:47 pm

Yes, it was me who suggested you turn on AutoRamp and set the ramp pressure to a value slightly less than your minimum pressure (7.8 ).

This was so we could determine decisively that a power cycle was occuring.

While we suspected a power cycle has been occuring, and at the beginning of the thread, when I made the suggestion we still weren't sure.

At 6:30 your machine was blowing 7.8. The *only* way that it can be at 7.8 is if it's in ramp mode, and on a ResMed the only way it can be in ramp is if it has just been powered on.

We now know absolutely that your machine is being power cycled. Now we just need to know why.

The odds of two different machines, your original and then your spare, having power issues within them, is too remote. The problem is external to them. The ResMed you sent in for repair is going to check out just fine.


From the beginning of the topic:
Dog Slobber wrote:
Sat Jul 23, 2022 11:52 am
Consider:
  • Setting your ramp to Auto and Ramp Pressure to 7.8 (or ramp 8.0 and min pressure to 8.2). This is *not* for therapy reason but to determine if your machine is having power cycles. You won't notice the the 0.2 difference in pressure, but a pressure of 7.8 will show up on your graphs and the only explanation is a power cycle. AutoRamp does a good job of detecting sleep and switching to therapy mode, and if it doesn't detect sleep, it will also switch to therapy mode should it detect events.