S mode

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
User avatar
babydinosnoreless
Posts: 2131
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:53 pm

S mode

Post by babydinosnoreless » Thu Jun 16, 2022 9:25 am

So I woke up choking last night. My ahi was over 3 it usually is under 1. My vauto was set to s mode. No one touched it or changed anything. Its a several step process to get it to s mode starting with the secret handshake to get into the settings. How could this have happened ? Any ideas ?

User avatar
Pugsy
Posts: 61140
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: S mode

Post by Pugsy » Thu Jun 16, 2022 9:28 am

How close are you to Roswell, NM? :lol:

Do you have the machine in airplane mode?
I can't imagine anyone at the DME going to all the trouble to change the settings via the interweb.
Mask: Bleep no headgear mask.. https://bleepsleep.com/
Machine: AirCurve 10 VAuto

I may have to RISE but I refuse to SHINE.

User avatar
chunkyfrog
Posts: 32439
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: in a nice, moist, Nebraska bog

Re: S mode

Post by chunkyfrog » Thu Jun 16, 2022 9:34 am

Walk into the DME, . . .
EDIT: Oops! LSAT sold it--my bad.

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ For Her CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: AirFit™ P10 For Her Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: second identical machine --sticking with a good thing.
Last edited by chunkyfrog on Thu Jun 16, 2022 12:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Laughter--the best medicine--up until your giggling wakes your spouse.
"Honey, how can you be having fun without me?"

User avatar
Dog Slobber
Posts: 3237
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: S mode

Post by Dog Slobber » Thu Jun 16, 2022 10:24 am

You should be able to look at your previous OSCAR daily graphs to see if/when your device was changed from VAuto to S mode. The S mode will be fixed pressure.
chunkyfrog wrote:
Thu Jun 16, 2022 9:34 am
Walk into the DME, and demand to speak to the highest mucky-muck in the place.
Without profanity or physical threats, INSIST they leave your settings ALONE.
OR ELSE! (The AMA, Medicare, FDA, or Lawyers--shudder)
If they deny meddling, suggest you might have a defective machine--
Which "MUST BE REPLACED!"
As I recall, Dino bought her VAuto from LSAT, so I don't think a DME is involved. If that was the case, it would be unknown what DME.

User avatar
zonker
Posts: 9166
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 4:36 pm

Re: S mode

Post by zonker » Thu Jun 16, 2022 10:45 am

Dog Slobber wrote:
Thu Jun 16, 2022 10:24 am

As I recall, Dino bought her VAuto from LSAT, so I don't think a DME is involved. If that was the case, it would be unknown what DME.
then obviously it's the fault of that devious lsat!
:lol: :lol: :lol:

iirc, she got it from lsat.
why folks don't like it when asked to clarify their statements?
We can't take this journey for you, but there is a forum full of people here who will gladly take it with you.-jnk

User avatar
chunkyfrog
Posts: 32439
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: in a nice, moist, Nebraska bog

Re: S mode

Post by chunkyfrog » Thu Jun 16, 2022 12:00 pm

So, the change is purely internal or an unknown 3rd party in the past.
(Maybe even Resmed, in their infinite greed)
Best to just change the settings back and use airplane mode to prevent
"Ghost adjustments".
Hope it doesn't need service--like acbio.com, but worth it, if needed.

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ For Her CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: AirFit™ P10 For Her Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: second identical machine --sticking with a good thing.
Laughter--the best medicine--up until your giggling wakes your spouse.
"Honey, how can you be having fun without me?"

User avatar
Pugsy
Posts: 61140
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: S mode

Post by Pugsy » Thu Jun 16, 2022 12:09 pm

chunkyfrog wrote:
Thu Jun 16, 2022 12:00 pm
So, the change is purely internal or an unknown 3rd party in the past.
(Maybe even Resmed, in their infinite greed)
ResMed the company won't do any machine setting changes. ResMed won't know if the settings are what the doctor ordered or not. They simply don't monitor that sort of stuff for that reason.
ResMed itself actually quits monitoring any machine serial number that goes over 6 months from the last time it called home to report anything.

DMEs are the ones that might force a change using the internet connection. Though I just can't see a DME caring that much after the length of time babydino has had the machine that she didn't even get from a DME (if she did buy this machine from lsat). There's nothing in it for the DME and we all know that they simply don't do something unless there is something in it for them.

But I would make sure the machine is in airplane mode for sure and THEN if it does go changing itself again to a different mode then I would be wondering if maybe something weird is going on with the internal software of the machine and make sure my back up machine was in good working order.

Or set a nanny cam to watch the machine just in case my alien friends are up to their old tricks again.
Mask: Bleep no headgear mask.. https://bleepsleep.com/
Machine: AirCurve 10 VAuto

I may have to RISE but I refuse to SHINE.

User avatar
chunkyfrog
Posts: 32439
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: in a nice, moist, Nebraska bog

Re: S mode

Post by chunkyfrog » Thu Jun 16, 2022 12:15 pm

You remember the Ukrainian tractor dealership that was looted by the Russians?
Either the dealer or John Deere hit the "OnStar button".
The thieves have tons of unusable junk.
Once access is had, it never is deleted--saved for a rainy day--or whatever.
Maybe even somebody's last day--after getting canned.
Or maybe brilliant work by the family cat. :mrgreen:

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ For Her CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: AirFit™ P10 For Her Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: second identical machine --sticking with a good thing.
Laughter--the best medicine--up until your giggling wakes your spouse.
"Honey, how can you be having fun without me?"

User avatar
babydinosnoreless
Posts: 2131
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:53 pm

Re: S mode

Post by babydinosnoreless » Thu Jun 16, 2022 7:30 pm

Sorry guys was at work. This is in fact my back up machine. Not the one from the DME. I am not near Roswell. Lol. But valid idea. :lol: :lol: Maybe the work of those strange lights over phoenix that we occasionally get. We had a house fire 2 + weeks ago and are in a hotel. My hubby is here while I was at work tho and no maids in yesterday. He can barely get the tv to work so I'm pretty sure he didn't mess with it. I've been checking my numbers on the screen every morning so I know that it was just fine before now. I don't know what happened its likely to remain forever a mystery.

User avatar
LSAT
Posts: 12750
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 10:11 am
Location: SE Wisconsin

Re: S mode

Post by LSAT » Thu Jun 16, 2022 7:43 pm

zonker wrote:
Thu Jun 16, 2022 10:45 am
Dog Slobber wrote:
Thu Jun 16, 2022 10:24 am

As I recall, Dino bought her VAuto from LSAT, so I don't think a DME is involved. If that was the case, it would be unknown what DME.
then obviously it's the fault of that devious lsat!
:lol: :lol: :lol:

iirc, she got it from lsat.
Actually I did sell her one in 2018....

_________________
Machine: ResMed AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: Fisher & Paykel Vitera Full Face Mask with Headgear (S, M, or L Cushion)
Additional Comments: Back up is S9 Autoset...... Buckwheat hull pillow

User avatar
babydinosnoreless
Posts: 2131
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:53 pm

Re: S mode

Post by babydinosnoreless » Thu Jun 16, 2022 8:25 pm

LSAT wrote:
Thu Jun 16, 2022 7:43 pm
zonker wrote:
Thu Jun 16, 2022 10:45 am
Dog Slobber wrote:
Thu Jun 16, 2022 10:24 am

As I recall, Dino bought her VAuto from LSAT, so I don't think a DME is involved. If that was the case, it would be unknown what DME.
then obviously it's the fault of that devious lsat!
:lol: :lol: :lol:

iirc, she got it from lsat.
Actually I did sell her one in 2018....
Yes and its worked perfectly. This was just some random weird event, its been that kind of last few weeks. Starting with a melting heat gun that was turned off and we know this because its melted in the off position. I was just getting over the shell shock of 2020-2021 nightmare and now I'm walking around shell shocked again. Repeating my mantra "what doesn't kill me makes me stronger". :lol: :lol: I sure wish I knew what I did to tick off the aliens.

User avatar
babydinosnoreless
Posts: 2131
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:53 pm

Re: S mode

Post by babydinosnoreless » Wed Jun 22, 2022 9:25 am

Woke up to my machine being in s mode again. Wtf ? Should I put it in airplane mode ?

User avatar
Pugsy
Posts: 61140
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: S mode

Post by Pugsy » Wed Jun 22, 2022 9:32 am

Can you import from the SD card into OSCAR??? Use a new profile just so you can see the Statistics page and down at the bottom the "changes to device setting" log for this machine only. Idea being to see if the change is documented and when it occurred.

I would definitely put it in airplane mode though...that would essentially eliminate any chance of anyone sending out remote changes should it happen again. While I think that it just doesn't make sense that some DME is messing with settings after this length of time...not impossible I suppose.

If it is in airplane mode and it again changes from auto mode to S mode and you know you didn't do it. Something weird is going on with the machine itself.
Mask: Bleep no headgear mask.. https://bleepsleep.com/
Machine: AirCurve 10 VAuto

I may have to RISE but I refuse to SHINE.

User avatar
babydinosnoreless
Posts: 2131
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:53 pm

Re: S mode

Post by babydinosnoreless » Wed Jun 22, 2022 9:55 am

Pugsy wrote:
Wed Jun 22, 2022 9:32 am
Can you import from the SD card into OSCAR??? Use a new profile just so you can see the Statistics page and down at the bottom the "changes to device setting" log for this machine only. Idea being to see if the change is documented and when it occurred.

I would definitely put it in airplane mode though...that would essentially eliminate any chance of anyone sending out remote changes should it happen again. While I think that it just doesn't make sense that some DME is messing with settings after this length of time...not impossible I suppose.

If it is in airplane mode and it again changes from auto mode to S mode and you know you didn't do it. Something weird is going on with the machine itself.
I would import sd card into oscar if I had my computer. Sadly everything except a few clothes, my back up machine (which this is) and my phone are all still packed up and being taken care of by the restoration company. I will put it into airplane mode tonight to see if that stops it. (Crossing fingers ).

User avatar
Dog Slobber
Posts: 3237
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: S mode

Post by Dog Slobber » Wed Jun 22, 2022 10:01 am

Yup, definitely put it into Airplane mode.

As Pugsy suggested, this can help to determine if it's being done remotely or it's a glitch.

Should we determine that it is being done remotely, permanently disconnecting the modem is easy to do and you don't have to deal with airplane mode.