fisher paykel icon no power

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Jan Andrea
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2018 8:50 pm

Re: fisher paykel icon no power

Post by Jan Andrea » Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:27 pm

Thank goodness for this thread! My machine, manufactured on January 9 2015, had stopped working after the power strip was bumped and it lost connection for a bit. I slept without it last night, which was miserable, but my husband found this thread and tonight I gave it the hot air treatment and lo, it booted up after just a few seconds after plugging it back in. You're life savers!

tchengo
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:08 am

Re: fisher paykel icon no power

Post by tchengo » Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:17 am

Hello, I have a cpap Icon premo and he is in trouble, he turns on and off every 2 seconds. Anyone know anything about this problem?

sr240
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2019 10:15 pm

Re: fisher paykel icon no power

Post by sr240 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 10:21 pm

jrbrwrjr wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 11:53 am
I have had the same issue with my F&P Icon Auto (which is now 5 years-old). I registered for the forum so I could share what I did to find a workaround for my machine. I hope this tip may be of help to others.

Background:
I tried the plug/unplug, hair dryer tricks with some degree of success. But recently took a trip to Europe where the voltage was 240V (vs. 120V in the USA). Since the input voltage on the machine can accept 120V or 240V, I bought a simple plug adapter to allow me to plug into the wall outlets in Europe. I was worried that I would get to Europe without a working CPAP. As it turned out, as soon as I plugged it into the 240V wall socket the CPAP powered up immediately. This same behavior occurred several times as we changed locations in Europe. The CPAP machine ran perfectly on 240V. No delayed power on at all. When I arrived back in the states and plugged it into 120V outlet, I experienced the same dead/no start behavior.

Solution/Workaround:
I purchased a 150 Watt (based on the power consumption data I could find on the unit) Voltage Transformer 120V to from 230V AC outlet American and European Step Up/Down Voltage Converter Transformer that raises the voltage up from 120V to 230V. In my case I purchased one made by KRIËGER which was about $45 on Amazon. I power the transformer from the 120V wall outlet and the transformer outputs 230V. I use the same plug adapter that I bought for my trip to Europe and plug my F&P into the transformer and my CPAP starts up immediately. I suspect there is an issue in the input power section of the circuit board. After I get a replacement machine, I intend to take mine apart and fix it. My initial thoughts were a bad capacitor or some component responsible for voltage conversion, but sounds like brownboy has isolated the issue to a triac (Thanks for the detective work and the photo!). While my workaround may be throwing good money at bad, it was a cost effective stop gap measure to get my machine working consistently (with peace of mind) until I purchase a new CPAP machine. Besides, I "tinker" and I'm sure I'll be able to use the transformer in/with other projects around the house.

I had my Fisher-Paykel CPAP gradually get worse and worse, until it finally did not power up anymore after two days of trying every trick...Decided the final step was to try to buy a $50 step-up (110v to 240v) converter off of Amazon, and it worked like a charm. Fired right up without any issues...Thanks for the tip! My tip would be to never purchase one of their junk CPAP's...

robvs
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2019 8:10 pm

Re: fisher paykel icon no power

Post by robvs » Sat Sep 21, 2019 8:31 pm

jrbrwrjr wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 11:53 am
I have had the same issue with my F&P Icon Auto (which is now 5 years-old). I registered for the forum so I could share what I did to find a workaround for my machine. I hope this tip may be of help to others.

Background:
I tried the plug/unplug, hair dryer tricks with some degree of success. But recently took a trip to Europe where the voltage was 240V (vs. 120V in the USA). Since the input voltage on the machine can accept 120V or 240V, I bought a simple plug adapter to allow me to plug into the wall outlets in Europe. I was worried that I would get to Europe without a working CPAP. As it turned out, as soon as I plugged it into the 240V wall socket the CPAP powered up immediately. This same behavior occurred several times as we changed locations in Europe. The CPAP machine ran perfectly on 240V. No delayed power on at all. When I arrived back in the states and plugged it into 120V outlet, I experienced the same dead/no start behavior.

Solution/Workaround:
I purchased a 150 Watt (based on the power consumption data I could find on the unit) Voltage Transformer 120V to from 230V AC outlet American and European Step Up/Down Voltage Converter Transformer that raises the voltage up from 120V to 230V. In my case I purchased one made by KRIËGER which was about $45 on Amazon. I power the transformer from the 120V wall outlet and the transformer outputs 230V. I use the same plug adapter that I bought for my trip to Europe and plug my F&P into the transformer and my CPAP starts up immediately. I suspect there is an issue in the input power section of the circuit board. After I get a replacement machine, I intend to take mine apart and fix it. My initial thoughts were a bad capacitor or some component responsible for voltage conversion, but sounds like brownboy has isolated the issue to a triac (Thanks for the detective work and the photo!). While my workaround may be throwing good money at bad, it was a cost effective stop gap measure to get my machine working consistently (with peace of mind) until I purchase a new CPAP machine. Besides, I "tinker" and I'm sure I'll be able to use the transformer in/with other projects around the house.

I found the converter that you've mentioned here (it actually says 150 watt, 110/120v to 220/240v Krieger). The machine on Amazon has some choices of volts or watts. The description line says what I just mentioned, but the machine looks like it has inputs for 230v and 120v. First, is this the correct one? If not, what is? The Next question, I too have a trip to Europe coming up. I'm a bit worried about my Fisher and Paykel icon machine working in Europe. I know you said yours worked fine without a converter, but if I encounter a problem will this item I'm thinking of buying work there for the problem we're having? Can I just use the european plug that it comes with and then I'm good to go? I think Europe is 220 in their outlets. It's my understanding that this converter will take the USA 110 and convert it to 220. So what happens when the European power outlets are 220 already? I also see the product description mentions 110/120 and 220/240. Why are there two sets of numbers and how does this apply to us? When I look at images of the converter, I don't really see how to select the correct voltages, nor do I really know what we need. I think our machine is supposed to work with any voltage. Ugh...I don't know. Can you help me out?

brownboy
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:28 pm

Re: fisher paykel icon no power

Post by brownboy » Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:58 pm

My apologies for not responding earlier. I registered on this forum mainly to post what I had found but didn't realize I wouldn't get notified of responses via email.

I never got around to replacing the triac and based on jrbrwrjr post I'd try to find a different one that is better suited.

It's been a long time but I think pins 4 and 6 are the upper 2 pins in my picture as they are on opposite side of the circular dimple on the lower side of the part.

I can say that jumpering this seems to have solved my problem (I go long periods without using this one) of it not turning on and I haven't had to resort to the hair dryer trick.

Brownboy

robvs
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2019 8:10 pm

Re: fisher paykel icon no power

Post by robvs » Wed Dec 18, 2019 10:05 pm

1. Someone indicated that pressing a black bulb with a toothpick would help. It doesn't. That's a speaker I think. 2. Can anyone post a pic/vid of fiddling around with this circuit board for those of us who are comfortable with soldering/jumping/whatever but don't know exactly how to do it?

trn1980
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 1:25 pm

Re: fisher paykel icon no power

Post by trn1980 » Mon Jan 27, 2020 10:49 pm

The hair dryer trick has worked for months for me, I also travel a lot for work with it. Typically takes 15-25 minutes though (I don't remove the bottom, just do the method where I prop up the back and fire the dryer at the plug until it fires up), gets to be a bit of a burden since I travel every week.

Just purchased the Krieger step-up converter 150w and Euro plug converter and will give this a whirl to see if it's instant-on / bypass and report back, probably later this week. If I can squeeze a few more years out of the machine by going this route, it will be well worth the money spent.

Thanks to everyone for putting their heads together and finding these things to try, it's been a (literal) life saver for me.

User avatar
zorki1c
Posts: 253
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:24 pm
Location: Intermountain West

Re: fisher paykel icon no power

Post by zorki1c » Mon Jan 27, 2020 11:32 pm

Had an Icon when they first came out. After about a week my DME let me exchange it for a ResMed S9 Autoset. Sounds like I dodged a bullet

_________________
MachineMask
Additional Comments: Use the P30i in the cooler months and the P10 the rest of the time.

trn1980
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 1:25 pm

Re: fisher paykel icon no power

Post by trn1980 » Fri Jan 31, 2020 8:35 am

trn1980 wrote:
Mon Jan 27, 2020 10:49 pm
The hair dryer trick has worked for months for me, I also travel a lot for work with it. Typically takes 15-25 minutes though (I don't remove the bottom, just do the method where I prop up the back and fire the dryer at the plug until it fires up), gets to be a bit of a burden since I travel every week.

Just purchased the Krieger step-up converter 150w and Euro plug converter and will give this a whirl to see if it's instant-on / bypass and report back, probably later this week. If I can squeeze a few more years out of the machine by going this route, it will be well worth the money spent.

Thanks to everyone for putting their heads together and finding these things to try, it's been a (literal) life saver for me.
Following up on this - the step-up to 220/240 works AMAZING. Instant on, bypasses whatever prevents the 110/120 system from turning on the way it should. Much better than doing the hairdryer trick every time I move the device (which is a few times a week for work). Anyone in a similar boat who can't spend 30 mins hair drying it every time it gets plugged in should do this. THANK YOU for this recommendation.

robvs
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2019 8:10 pm

Re: fisher paykel icon no power

Post by robvs » Tue Feb 18, 2020 9:30 pm

Those of you using a step up/step down with this unit, what happens if you use it in the US, with the US plug and the US 120 outlet? Mine seems to work this way. Not sure how reliably this will work. I’m figuring this adds just a slightly more powerful bit of juice, enough to trigger this thing to work. Also, seems like I can unplug the cpap from the transformer and then plug it in to the wall right away and it will continue working. But again, this is with limited experimenting in my home, not some finicky hotel on the road. Please try this and report back. I’m going away and need to decide if it’s worth even getting an euro adapter.

User avatar
chunkyfrog
Posts: 32439
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: in a nice, moist, Nebraska bog

Re: fisher paykel icon no power

Post by chunkyfrog » Wed Feb 19, 2020 12:40 am

Such a cute little cabinet to set on the nightstand.
To think I was actually tempted at one time.
Who knew it could be such a royal PITA?
Saved by my stingy nature.

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ For Her CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: AirFit™ P10 For Her Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: second identical machine --sticking with a good thing.
Laughter--the best medicine--up until your giggling wakes your spouse.
"Honey, how can you be having fun without me?"

robvs
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2019 8:10 pm

Re: fisher paykel icon no power

Post by robvs » Sun Feb 23, 2020 10:07 pm

I'm fixing this thing even if it kills me. My insurance just provided me with a new Resmed Airsense 10 so I have nothing to lose in taking this thing apart and replacing that Triac part that was mentioned. I'm ordering the part "TLP266J" right now and making sure I have the proper soldering supplies. I intend on involving a friend and posting a ton of pics. BTW...I miss Radio Shack for the first time in decades.

DAVID4
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 5:36 am

Re: fisher paykel icon no power

Post by DAVID4 » Mon Feb 24, 2020 5:48 am

My Fisher Paykle would not start. Checked this site for information and then went back to FDA site on PK recall information.
The recall was a short window in 2013. For Icon Auto, Novo and Premo models. Contract no. 1-800-792-3912.
Will try hair dryer method and see if it works on my machine.

Can some one respond to this question. Would it help the moisture problem if you kept the bottom place detached fromthe machine. Would the machine continue to work???

DAVID4
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 5:36 am

Re: fisher paykel icon no power

Post by DAVID4 » Mon Feb 24, 2020 6:02 am

robvs wrote:
Sat Sep 21, 2019 8:31 pm
jrbrwrjr wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 11:53 am
I have had the same issue with my F&P Icon Auto (which is now 5 years-old). I registered for the forum so I could share what I did to find a workaround for my machine. I hope this tip may be of help to others.

Background:
I tried the plug/unplug, hair dryer tricks with some degree of success. But recently took a trip to Europe where the voltage was 240V (vs. 120V in the USA). Since the input voltage on the machine can accept 120V or 240V, I bought a simple plug adapter to allow me to plug into the wall outlets in Europe. I was worried that I would get to Europe without a working CPAP. As it turned out, as soon as I plugged it into the 240V wall socket the CPAP powered up immediately. This same behavior occurred several times as we changed locations in Europe. The CPAP machine ran perfectly on 240V. No delayed power on at all. When I arrived back in the states and plugged it into 120V outlet, I experienced the same dead/no start behavior.

Solution/Workaround:
I purchased a 150 Watt (based on the power consumption data I could find on the unit) Voltage Transformer 120V to from 230V AC outlet American and European Step Up/Down Voltage Converter Transformer that raises the voltage up from 120V to 230V. In my case I purchased one made by KRIËGER which was about $45 on Amazon. I power the transformer from the 120V wall outlet and the transformer outputs 230V. I use the same plug adapter that I bought for my trip to Europe and plug my F&P into the transformer and my CPAP starts up immediately. I suspect there is an issue in the input power section of the circuit board. After I get a replacement machine, I intend to take mine apart and fix it. My initial thoughts were a bad capacitor or some component responsible for voltage conversion, but sounds like brownboy has isolated the issue to a triac (Thanks for the detective work and the photo!). While my workaround may be throwing good money at bad, it was a cost effective stop gap measure to get my machine working consistently (with peace of mind) until I purchase a new CPAP machine. Besides, I "tinker" and I'm sure I'll be able to use the transformer in/with other projects around the house.

I found the converter that you've mentioned here (it actually says 150 watt, 110/120v to 220/240v Krieger). The machine on Amazon has some choices of volts or watts. The description line says what I just mentioned, but the machine looks like it has inputs for 230v and 120v. First, is this the correct one? If not, what is? The Next question, I too have a trip to Europe coming up. I'm a bit worried about my Fisher and Paykel icon machine working in Europe. I know you said yours worked fine without a converter, but if I encounter a problem will this item I'm thinking of buying work there for the problem we're having? Can I just use the european plug that it comes with and then I'm good to go? I think Europe is 220 in their outlets. It's my understanding that this converter will take the USA 110 and convert it to 220. So what happens when the European power outlets are 220 already? I also see the product description mentions 110/120 and 220/240. Why are there two sets of numbers and how does this apply to us? When I look at images of the converter, I don't really see how to select the correct voltages, nor do I really know what we need. I think our machine is supposed to work with any voltage. Ugh...I don't know. Can you help me out?
Did you Pk cpap machine send a error message? Mine says error, but no number associated with error problem

robvs
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2019 8:10 pm

Re: fisher paykel icon no power

Post by robvs » Mon Feb 24, 2020 7:36 pm

DAVID4 wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 5:48 am
My Fisher Paykle would not start. Checked this site for information and then went back to FDA site on PK recall information.
The recall was a short window in 2013. For Icon Auto, Novo and Premo models. Contract no. 1-800-792-3912.
Will try hair dryer method and see if it works on my machine.

Can some one respond to this question. Would it help the moisture problem if you kept the bottom place detached fromthe machine. Would the machine continue to work???
It is not a moisture problem. It's a problem with a part that is soldered to a mother board. This part seems to be faulty and it seemingly is one that helps control the voltage mode the CPAP machine runs in. In other words, this thing can be plugged in to European 220 or USA 110 and it will fire up. However, when you disconnect it from power and plug it back in, this part seems to get confused and a blast from a hair dryer seems to heat it up and trick it into working.

Your solutions are:
1. The hair dryer trick: with the until plugged in, use a Torx20 screw driver to remove the bottom plate and blast the two motherboards that are sandwiched together for a few minutes until the thing powers up.
2. Buy a transformer and a simple USA to European adapter. The adapter should not convert power, it's just going to plug into the transformer in the euro jack and create a new USA jack that will give you 220 power (there is a transformer mentioned in this thread for 50, the adapter will be found on Amazon for super cheap). This transformer will give you 220 power, what you'd get in Europe. Some people have luck with this dose of power still working with the unit.
3. Take the thing apart and replace the faulty Triac part (what I'm currently doing): This will involve ordering the correct part from DigiKey, snipping some wires to get the boards out, connecting some additional lengths of wire to those wires to allow yourself to pull the boards out with enough slack, and replacing the faulty part with a soldering iron.
4. Keep the thing plugged in forever
5. Trash heap
6. Beg insurance company

Photos to follow eventually

(no error message on machine btw)