resmed airsense 10 start button broken

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
User avatar
K5MOW
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Friendswood TX
Contact:

Re: resmed airsense 10 start button broken

Post by K5MOW » Sun Feb 21, 2016 2:30 pm

LSAT wrote:
K5MOW wrote:I wonder how bad this problem is and how many people has been affected by the default in the unit. I just received mine about a week ago wonder if they have corrected the start stop switch problem on the new models coming out.

How many of you out there has had a Resmed Airsense 10 for more than a couple years with no problems. Hopefully this is not a continuing problem.

Roger


This model is relatively new. I don't think you will find anyone that has used it for "more than a couple years".
Yes I understand it is pretty new wondering how many people have had it close to two years with no problems.

It doesn't appear there is a whole Lotta people with this issue as I have also searched the Internet and cannot find any known problems.

Roger
Moderate to Severe Sleep Apnea

Airsense 10 Autoset AirStart 10 CPAP

Mirage Quattro Full Face Mask

Roger

User avatar
Krelvin
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Metro Phx Area - Dry Heat!

Re: resmed airsense 10 start button broken

Post by Krelvin » Sun Feb 21, 2016 2:39 pm

K5MOW wrote:How many of you out there has had a Resmed Airsense 10 for more than a couple years with no problems. Hopefully this is not a continuing problem.
Airsense 10 line wasn't announced until Aug 2014 and some models not even available until the following year. That plus the fact that many DME's were still trying to deplete their S9 products before providing them, the number of people who actually have had one for more than a year is most likely not all that many.

I got my S9 VAP Auto in Sep 2014 because a) I didn't want a new product with little exposure in the field and b) the DME didn't offer them yet. That would have been an AirCurve 10 V Auto if it was available though, not an Airsense model.
Current Settings PS 4.0 over 10.6-18.0 (cmH2O) - Resmed S9 VPAP Auto w/h5i Humidifier - Quattro Air FFM
TNET Sleep Resource Pages - CPAP Machine Database
Put your equip in your Signature - SleepyHead v1.0.0-beta-1
Kevin... alias Krelvin

User avatar
Okie bipap
Posts: 3392
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2015 4:14 pm
Location: Central Oklahoma

Re: resmed airsense 10 start button broken

Post by Okie bipap » Sun Feb 21, 2016 4:03 pm

I got my first Air Curve 10 in May, 2015 and my second one in June because the first one would not transmit data to Resmed. I then got my third machine in December when the second machine refused to turn on when I was out of town. I went three nights without using the machine and picked up a new one as soon as I got back in town.

_________________
Machine: AirCurve™ 10 VAuto BiLevel Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: ResMed AirFit™ F20 Full Face CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: IPAP 20-25, ps 4, OSCAR software
Growing old is mandatory, but growing up is optional.

User avatar
chunkyfrog
Posts: 32439
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: in a nice, moist, Nebraska bog

Re: resmed airsense 10 start button broken

Post by chunkyfrog » Sun Feb 21, 2016 5:23 pm

I think the first ones were being pre-ordered in August, 2014.
I had to wait until October, 2014 for my DME to get mine in.
They are that new.

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ For Her CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: AirFit™ P10 For Her Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: second identical machine --sticking with a good thing.
Laughter--the best medicine--up until your giggling wakes your spouse.
"Honey, how can you be having fun without me?"

User avatar
K5MOW
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Friendswood TX
Contact:

Re: resmed airsense 10 start button broken

Post by K5MOW » Sun Feb 21, 2016 5:56 pm

chunkyfrog wrote:I think the first ones were being pre-ordered in August, 2014.
I had to wait until October, 2014 for my DME to get mine in.
They are that new.
Is yours been working with know problems.

Roger
Moderate to Severe Sleep Apnea

Airsense 10 Autoset AirStart 10 CPAP

Mirage Quattro Full Face Mask

Roger

User avatar
palerider
Posts: 30900
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 5:43 pm
Location: Dallas(ish).

Re: resmed airsense 10 start button broken

Post by palerider » Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:09 pm

K5MOW wrote:How many of you out there has had a Resmed Airsense 10 for more than a couple years
nobody, it hasn't been on the market that long.

_________________
Mask: Bleep DreamPort CPAP Mask Solution
Additional Comments: S9 VPAP Auto
Get OSCAR and come chat on IRC: #cpaptalk on irc.libera.chat

Accounts to put on the foe list: dataq1, gearchange, mper!?, DreamDiver, Geer1, almostadoctor, sleepgeek, ajack, stom, mogy, D.H., They're often post misleading, timewasting stuff.

User avatar
K5MOW
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Friendswood TX
Contact:

Re: resmed airsense 10 start button broken

Post by K5MOW » Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:21 pm

palerider wrote:
K5MOW wrote:How many of you out there has had a Resmed Airsense 10 for more than a couple years
nobody, it hasn't been on the market that long.
Thank you for the information I see now it has been out for about a year and a half at best.

Well I wonder in general for the amount of units sold is there a huge amount not working properly. There sure doesn't appear to be that much on the Internet about the unit being defective.

Thanks Roger
Moderate to Severe Sleep Apnea

Airsense 10 Autoset AirStart 10 CPAP

Mirage Quattro Full Face Mask

Roger

rpaterson

Re: resmed airsense 10 start button broken

Post by rpaterson » Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:14 am

Big Dave, you are the man.

I followed the link in your post which shows very easily how to access the Clinical Menu on the ResMed 10.

In the Clinical Menu there is the ability to enable Smart Start. This allows the machine to switch on as soon as you begin breathing into the mask. Conversely, it will automatically shut off after a few seconds of zero mask seal.

A lifesaver as my machine's on/off button has stopped working completely as of this morning.

I would suggest that no one tinker with the other settings in the Clinical Menu or make any other changes that could void warranty.

guest2016

Re: resmed airsense 10 start button broken

Post by guest2016 » Sun May 15, 2016 9:02 am

Yes my start/stop button broke, not only on my machone, but now on the loaner. I switched over to smart mode, tthanks to this thread.

guest2016

Re: resmed airsense 10 start button broken

Post by guest2016 » Sun May 15, 2016 9:04 am

Not so much a defect, design fault!!

User avatar
Sir NoddinOff
Posts: 4190
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 5:30 pm
Location: California

Re: resmed airsense 10 start button broken

Post by Sir NoddinOff » Sun May 15, 2016 9:26 am

guest2016 wrote:Yes my start/stop button broke, not only on my machone, but now on the loaner.
Yikes. This is the kind of stuff that was going on with the series 50 Phillips Respironics machines several years ago and still continues to pop up here at CPAPtalk. These new Airsense problem reports, tho they aren't many so far, are depressing. I don't like to think that ResMed's new machines might be going thru 'design flaw' issues that PR suffered from (PR's issues were power related tho different).

_________________
Mask: AirFit™ F10 Full Face Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: Sleepyhead software v.0.9.8.1 Open GL and Encore Pro v2.2.
I like my ResMed AirFit F10 FFM - reasonably low leaks for my ASV therapy. I'm currently using a PR S1 AutoSV 960P Advanced. I also keep a ResMed S9 Adapt as backup. I use a heated Hibernite hose. Still rockin' with Win 7 by using GWX to stop Win 10.

User avatar
Uncle_Bob
Posts: 2777
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:10 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: resmed airsense 10 start button broken

Post by Uncle_Bob » Sun May 15, 2016 7:17 pm

Resmeds warranty on the machine is two years. I think you have to go through your DME for that. But you may want to contact Resmed so you know your exact warranty rights.

~UB

Jammersrae
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2020 6:28 pm

Re: resmed airsense 10 start button broken

Post by Jammersrae » Fri Mar 13, 2020 6:32 pm

I know this post is a few years old, but just in case anyone finds themselves looking for a solution, like I have been, going into the settings and changing it to auto start saved my life. So thank you so much for your input on this board.

JHL17
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2021 2:36 pm

Re: resmed airsense 10 start button broken

Post by JHL17 » Mon Aug 09, 2021 2:42 pm

Count me in. Older AirSense 10 with same problem.

User avatar
LSAT
Posts: 12750
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 10:11 am
Location: SE Wisconsin

Re: resmed airsense 10 start button broken

Post by LSAT » Mon Aug 09, 2021 5:51 pm

JHL17 wrote:
Mon Aug 09, 2021 2:42 pm
Count me in. Older AirSense 10 with same problem.
Same solution...Turn on Smart Start.

_________________
Machine: ResMed AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: Fisher & Paykel Vitera Full Face Mask with Headgear (S, M, or L Cushion)
Additional Comments: Back up is S9 Autoset...... Buckwheat hull pillow