Extension cords

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Lynnie24
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2023 4:10 pm

Extension cords

Post by Lynnie24 » Mon Aug 28, 2023 4:16 pm

When I first got my Airsense 10 I was told to always plug it into a wall socket. In the past I've been required to report to a storm shelter. This time I'm not. My question is, if I loose power can I use an extension cord to my generator? I'm not sure why I was told to always use a wall socket but don't want to damage my machine but don't want to go without it either. Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Really
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 8:27 am

Re: Extension cords

Post by Really » Mon Aug 28, 2023 7:50 pm

Lynnie24 wrote:
Mon Aug 28, 2023 4:16 pm
My question is, if I loose power can I use an extension cord to my generator?
I would and have esp. when on a cruise ship and you have to. I would look for a DC cord and battery to fit your cpap as most places tend to frown on running a generator after certain hours. But yea be sure you have cords long enuff to run this generator outside of the house or garage or we may not hear from you again.
You Can't Fix Stupid Really

amenite
Posts: 488
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 7:02 pm

Re: Extension cords

Post by amenite » Mon Aug 28, 2023 8:00 pm

After reading this board for a while I added an extension cord to my travel kit items. Pretty sure I've plugged into one of those outlet on the base of the lamp things a time or two. And the occasional extension cord already in place in a guest room, when visiting somewhere and didn't want to move furniture late at night and so forth. I don't get the prohibition on extension cords. Who told you that anyway?

User avatar
palerider
Posts: 32299
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 5:43 pm
Location: Dallas(ish).

Re: Extension cords

Post by palerider » Mon Aug 28, 2023 10:31 pm

Lynnie24 wrote:
Mon Aug 28, 2023 4:16 pm
This time I'm not. My question is, if I loose power can I use an extension cord to my generator?
Yes.
Lynnie24 wrote:
Mon Aug 28, 2023 4:16 pm
I'm not sure why I was told to always use a wall socket
Because some people don't have even the faintest clue how electricity works... Ignore them.

_________________
Mask: Bleep DreamPort CPAP Mask Solution
Additional Comments: S9 VPAP Auto
Get OSCAR

Accounts to put on the foe list: dataq1, clownbell, gearchange, lynninnj, mper!?, DreamDiver, Geer1, almostadoctor, sleepgeek, ajack, stom, mogy, D.H., They often post misleading, timewasting stuff.

User avatar
chunkyfrog
Posts: 34491
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: In the abyss that is Nebraska--wish me luck!

Re: Extension cords

Post by chunkyfrog » Mon Aug 28, 2023 10:36 pm

Lynnie24 wrote:
Mon Aug 28, 2023 4:16 pm
When I first got my Airsense 10 I was told to always plug it into a wall socket.
. . .
What a silly, silly demand!
I have rarely been able to plug my cpap directly into the wall outlet.
Especially in a hospital or motel, and at home.
It makes way more sense to plug into a power strip with overload protection.
I have way too many things that need the magic, right by my bed.
The cpap, (of course), my hearing aid conditioner, lamp, plus chargers
for my phone and tablet. I am NOT a savage!

_________________
Mask: AirFit™ P10 For Her Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: Airsense 10 Autoset for Her

User avatar
ChicagoGranny
Posts: 14672
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 1:43 pm
Location: USA

Re: Extension cords

Post by ChicagoGranny » Tue Aug 29, 2023 3:54 pm

Lynnie24 wrote:
Mon Aug 28, 2023 4:16 pm
When I first got my Airsense 10 I was told to always plug it into a wall socket.
Maybe that was as opposed to not plugging it in anywhere? - Captain Obvious

dataq1
Posts: 830
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 8:09 am
Location: Northeast Ohio

Re: Extension cords

Post by dataq1 » Tue Aug 29, 2023 4:33 pm

Lynnie24 wrote:
Mon Aug 28, 2023 4:16 pm
I was told to always use a wall socket
It's a remnant of days long ago, when the length and gage of the wire (cord) could limit the current available for the motor.
AFAIK, today's CPAPs are actually powered by DC (supplied through the power brick, with a rather low current draw) so no problems.

That said, I'd suggest that you DO NOT try using bell wire (telephone wire) to connect your power brick to the AC mains, regardless of the length of the wire.
"THE INFORMATION PROVIDED ON CPAPTALK.COM IS NOT INTENDED NOR RECOMMENDED AS A SUBSTITUTE FOR PROFESSIONAL MEDICAL ADVICE."

User avatar
SleepGeek
Posts: 1055
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 2:56 pm

Re: Extension cords

Post by SleepGeek » Tue Aug 29, 2023 8:46 pm

Lynnie24 wrote:
Mon Aug 28, 2023 4:16 pm
can I use an extension cord to my generator?
I would but I also use a power strip. Cpaps don't draw much power to worry about overheating an ext. cord.

Most of these techs giving out advise like this don't use a cpap and are just repeating what they have been told.
Happiness is being on Dog Slobber pr & zonkers foe list
CrankyGranny is Whale Road + many other ids
They are here to help.
zonkers + palerider aka GrumpyHere wrote: What exactly do you think you're adding to this thread?

User avatar
Bubba in NC
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:29 am
Location: Raleigh NC

Re: Extension cords

Post by Bubba in NC » Wed Aug 30, 2023 10:21 am

I use this for travel with my Airsense 11 and my Airmini. Obviously wouldn't work with a generator but it's quite compact and give me about 5 1/2 ' extra reach plus provides USB charging ports and extra outlets. Comes in handy when you've got a bunch of people trying to charge devices and a shortage of outlets.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B072J ... =UTF8&th=1
ResMed Airsense 11
ResMed P10 nasal pillow mask

User avatar
chunkyfrog
Posts: 34491
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: In the abyss that is Nebraska--wish me luck!

Re: Extension cords

Post by chunkyfrog » Thu Aug 31, 2023 12:15 pm

If it has been forgotten on a trip, a power strip can be found in any number of places.
Menards, Home Depot, Wal Mart, and Harbor Freight, to name a few.
If not, they are fun places to shop.

_________________
Mask: AirFit™ P10 For Her Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: Airsense 10 Autoset for Her

D.H.
Posts: 3485
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 7:07 pm

Re: Extension cords

Post by D.H. » Fri Sep 08, 2023 2:51 pm

Somebody in this thread eluded to a ban on extension cords. I assume that person was speaking of cruise ships.

If you're traveling on an ocean-liner, please advise them that you will be bringing a CPAP machine. They will either assure you that the electric sockets will be near the bed, provide their own extension cord, or waive any ban on extension cords. They will also confirm that the socket is the same as your home country or advise you when adapter you need if that's not the case (or provide it themselves).

Also, they can provide distilled water for free or at low cost.

_________________
MachineMask
Additional Comments: Auto PAP; 13.5 cmH2O min - 20 cmH2O max

User avatar
ChicagoGranny
Posts: 14672
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 1:43 pm
Location: USA

Re: Extension cords

Post by ChicagoGranny » Fri Sep 08, 2023 3:21 pm

I evaded the ban.

D.H.
Posts: 3485
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 7:07 pm

Re: Extension cords

Post by D.H. » Sun Jul 07, 2024 4:55 pm

dataq1 wrote:
Tue Aug 29, 2023 4:33 pm
Lynnie24 wrote:
Mon Aug 28, 2023 4:16 pm
I was told to always use a wall socket
It's a remnant of days long ago, when the length and gage of the wire (cord) could limit the current available for the motor.
AFAIK, today's CPAPs are actually powered by DC (supplied through the power brick, with a rather low current draw) so no problems.

That said, I'd suggest that you DO NOT try using bell wire (telephone wire) to connect your power brick to the AC mains, regardless of the length of the wire.
They still told me not to use an extension cord as recently as 2019. However, I have no intention of having my house rewired for this reason.

I would never use "telephone wire" to carry house current (US or European). However, telephone wire is probably an endangered species, as land lines (at least residential ones) will eventually go away completely.

_________________
MachineMask
Additional Comments: Auto PAP; 13.5 cmH2O min - 20 cmH2O max