Can't register My ResMed AirCurve on MyAir

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
User avatar
chunkyfrog
Posts: 32528
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: in a nice, moist, Nebraska bog

Re: Can't register My ResMed AirCurve on MyAir

Post by chunkyfrog » Fri Aug 05, 2022 5:00 pm

There is no modem. Maybe it is chip shortage--specifically the "modem" chip.
You can use your sd card with Oscar to see way more information.
Do that.
Mickey belongs at Disneyland.

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ For Her CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: AirFit™ P10 For Her Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: second identical machine --sticking with a good thing.
Laughter--the best medicine--up until your giggling wakes your spouse.
"Honey, how can you be having fun without me?"

User avatar
Okie bipap
Posts: 3408
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2015 4:14 pm
Location: Central Oklahoma

Re: Can't register My ResMed AirCurve on MyAir

Post by Okie bipap » Fri Aug 05, 2022 5:31 pm

When the cellular companies quit supporting 3G, I lost my cellular connection with My Air web site. Both of our machines show no bars for cellular strength. Prior to losing 3G support, we always had a strong cellular signal at our house.

_________________
Machine: AirCurve™ 10 VAuto BiLevel Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: ResMed AirFit™ F20 Full Face CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: IPAP 20-25, ps 4, OSCAR software
Growing old is mandatory, but growing up is optional.

User avatar
chunkyfrog
Posts: 32528
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: in a nice, moist, Nebraska bog

Re: Can't register My ResMed AirCurve on MyAir

Post by chunkyfrog » Fri Aug 05, 2022 7:32 pm

We still have 3g here, so I can keep using my PAID FOR phone for a while at least.

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ For Her CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: AirFit™ P10 For Her Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: second identical machine --sticking with a good thing.
Laughter--the best medicine--up until your giggling wakes your spouse.
"Honey, how can you be having fun without me?"

lynninnj
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2022 8:56 am

Re: Can't register My ResMed AirCurve on MyAir

Post by lynninnj » Sat Aug 06, 2022 6:02 am

DittoDan wrote:
Fri Aug 05, 2022 9:55 am
I got the machine from a local medical supply company (Binson's) that Blue Care Network works with. When I tried to log into MyAir, it said that it doesn't have cellular data. The technician at the sleep study clinic said it was because of the "Chip shortage".

I also heard that the insurance company does track me for compliance (another person at the sleep clinic place). Which has to be false, since I am not on Cellular data.

Its a shame they didn't make them have WIFI or BlueTooth and a phone app.

I imagine that when I go to the sleep clinic for follow-up, they will review my data on my SD card. I noticed in their papers they stress for people to bring in their SD cards to appointments.

Thank you for your help,

Dan Bovinich




Dog Slobber wrote:
Fri Aug 05, 2022 6:54 am
ChicagoGranny wrote:
Fri Aug 05, 2022 6:31 am
DittoDan wrote:
Thu Aug 04, 2022 1:57 pm
I tried to register my brand new ResMed AirCurve 10 on MyAir. The app said my machine isn't covered in my area (Detroit, MI suburbia).
Did you get your machine from a local DME? Is insurance involved? If insurance is involved, you likely will have to show evidence of compliance. DMEs use myAir to show compliance to insurance companies.
DMEs and insurance don't use myAir for compliance.

Uploading data to ResMed's servers, and then being accessed by authorised entities, is not dependent on registering the device to myAir.
mine connects via Bluetooth I believe. Has nothing to do with 3G or 4G. Might want to just make sure your phone is synced up to it as a device on Bluetooth.

I have to go in another week to have them check compliance. A few people have discussed how if you put the SD card in incorrectly it will not register your sleep. I have not taken mine out for that reason. I don’t want to run the risk of not putting it in correctly and not being compliant.

I hope that helps

_________________
Machine: AirSense 11 Autoset
Mask: ResMed AirFit N30 Nasal CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: Newbie who loves her machine!

User avatar
Pugsy
Posts: 61626
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: Can't register My ResMed AirCurve on MyAir

Post by Pugsy » Sat Aug 06, 2022 6:23 am

lynninnj wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 6:02 am
mine connects via Bluetooth I believe. Has nothing to do with 3G or 4G. Might want to just make sure your phone is synced up to it as a device on Bluetooth.

I have to go in another week to have them check compliance. A few people have discussed how if you put the SD card in incorrectly it will not register your sleep. I have not taken mine out for that reason. I don’t want to run the risk of not putting it in correctly and not being compliant.
Bluetooth is just the machine connecting to one of your devices at home...phone or computer and those devices can of course connect to the internet.
Bluetooth doesn't transmit the data from the machine to the cloud where MyAir is....that's what the modem does.
A person doesn't have to have Bluetooth connection between devices to have their machine connect to MyAir or the DME/doctor version AirView ....that's the job of the modem in the machine to phone home.

Now for your fear of the machine losing any data or the data getting screwed up if you mess with the SD card.
Totally unfounded. Whatever data your machine does transmit to MyAir/AirView is going to happen no matter what is going on with the SD card. What gets transmitted is the data that is stored in the machine's internal storage area and nothing comes from the contents of the SD card at all. The SD card has zero interaction with what gets transmitted anywhere.

Now there was a past older model of the ResMed machines that did have a problem with the SD card if the SD card was put in a computer that wrote a little text file to the SD card. That's why the warning for S9 model machine users to write protect their SD cards prior to inserting in their computers. The S9 model machine is the ONLY model that has a problem with the SD card being altered with that little text file.

You can safely use the SD card in your computer and use OSCAR and absolutely nothing will change in terms of what the machine reports to MyAir/AirView for your DME or doctor to see to verify compliance usage or anything else.
The SD card has nothing to do with what gets reported to the MyAir/AirView cloud.
Mask: Bleep no headgear mask.. https://bleepsleep.com/
Machine: AirCurve 10 VAuto

I may have to RISE but I refuse to SHINE.

User avatar
ChicagoGranny
Posts: 12693
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 1:43 pm
Location: USA

Re: Can't register My ResMed AirCurve on MyAir

Post by ChicagoGranny » Sat Aug 06, 2022 6:58 am

Pugsy wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 6:23 am
Now there was a past older model of the ResMed machines that did have a problem with the SD card if the SD card was put in a computer that wrote a little text file to the SD card. That's why the warning for S9 model machine users to write protect their SD cards prior to inserting in their computers. The S9 model machine is the ONLY model that has a problem with the SD card being altered with that little text file.
And even then, if you fail to write-protect the card before putting it into your computer, no permanent damage is done. When you put the card back into the S9, a message comes on the screen whether you want to overwrite what (that little file) is on the card. Select "Yes", and the machine reformats the card and is ready as usual to write more data.

User avatar
Pugsy
Posts: 61626
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: Can't register My ResMed AirCurve on MyAir

Post by Pugsy » Sat Aug 06, 2022 7:11 am

ChicagoGranny wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 6:58 am
Pugsy wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 6:23 am
Now there was a past older model of the ResMed machines that did have a problem with the SD card if the SD card was put in a computer that wrote a little text file to the SD card. That's why the warning for S9 model machine users to write protect their SD cards prior to inserting in their computers. The S9 model machine is the ONLY model that has a problem with the SD card being altered with that little text file.
And even then, if you fail to write-protect the card before putting it into your computer, no permanent damage is done. When you put the card back into the S9, a message comes on the screen whether you want to overwrite what (that little file) is on the card. Select "Yes", and the machine reformats the card and is ready as usual to write more data.
Correct....and there was even a method of removing the offending file from the SD card using some DOS functions.
It didn't harm any data on the machine itself though...just the SD card data which a person already would have in OSCAR anyway. It wasn't the end of the world if it happened. I got quite proficient at removing the offending file myself with a little DOS work. :lol:
Mask: Bleep no headgear mask.. https://bleepsleep.com/
Machine: AirCurve 10 VAuto

I may have to RISE but I refuse to SHINE.

lynninnj
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2022 8:56 am

Re: Can't register My ResMed AirCurve on MyAir

Post by lynninnj » Sat Aug 06, 2022 7:20 am

Pugsy wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 6:23 am
lynninnj wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 6:02 am
mine connects via Bluetooth I believe. Has nothing to do with 3G or 4G. Might want to just make sure your phone is synced up to it as a device on Bluetooth.

I have to go in another week to have them check compliance. A few people have discussed how if you put the SD card in incorrectly it will not register your sleep. I have not taken mine out for that reason. I don’t want to run the risk of not putting it in correctly and not being compliant.
Bluetooth is just the machine connecting to one of your devices at home...phone or computer and those devices can of course connect to the internet.
Bluetooth doesn't transmit the data from the machine to the cloud where MyAir is....that's what the modem does.
A person doesn't have to have Bluetooth connection between devices to have their machine connect to MyAir or the DME/doctor version AirView ....that's the job of the modem in the machine to phone home.

Now for your fear of the machine losing any data or the data getting screwed up if you mess with the SD card.
Totally unfounded. Whatever data your machine does transmit to MyAir/AirView is going to happen no matter what is going on with the SD card. What gets transmitted is the data that is stored in the machine's internal storage area and nothing comes from the contents of the SD card at all. The SD card has zero interaction with what gets transmitted anywhere.

Now there was a past older model of the ResMed machines that did have a problem with the SD card if the SD card was put in a computer that wrote a little text file to the SD card. That's why the warning for S9 model machine users to write protect their SD cards prior to inserting in their computers. The S9 model machine is the ONLY model that has a problem with the SD card being altered with that little text file.

You can safely use the SD card in your computer and use OSCAR and absolutely nothing will change in terms of what the machine reports to MyAir/AirView for your DME or doctor to see to verify compliance usage or anything else.
The SD card has nothing to do with what gets reported to the MyAir/AirView cloud.
this is interesting. I thought it connected to the app via Bluetooth. Obviously I am mistaken.

We get a very lousy signal here and I’m surprised if anything is transmit it anywhere. Pretty sure I am in a dead zone for that particular carrier.

Why are they asking to bring the machine for the SD card when I go for my next visit then? I thought they would be checking compliance that way.

edit: ok I am not crazy. I am def connected via bluetooth to my machine on the myair app.

_________________
Machine: AirSense 11 Autoset
Mask: ResMed AirFit N30 Nasal CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: Newbie who loves her machine!

User avatar
Pugsy
Posts: 61626
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: Can't register My ResMed AirCurve on MyAir

Post by Pugsy » Sat Aug 06, 2022 7:40 am

lynninnj wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 7:20 am
Why are they asking to bring the machine for the SD card when I go for my next visit then?
Don't know. You would have to ask them but most likely it is just standard procedure for just in case they can't/don't get the access to the data through AirView for some reason or other.

Bluetooth doesn't access anything but the communication between devices in your home
and they may share the data but the data going out of the machine goes via the modem and not Bluetooth. Bluetooth doesn't transmit to AirView or MyAir. It's the modem in the machine that phones home and allows the sharing of whatever data between various devices via Bluetooth.

If you didn't have Bluetooth enabled...the machine would still phone home to MyAir/AirView.
Mask: Bleep no headgear mask.. https://bleepsleep.com/
Machine: AirCurve 10 VAuto

I may have to RISE but I refuse to SHINE.

Grumpy48
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 7:57 am

Re: Can't register My ResMed AirCurve on MyAir

Post by Grumpy48 » Sat Aug 06, 2022 11:10 am

Pugsy wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 7:40 am
lynninnj wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 7:20 am
Why are they asking to bring the machine for the SD card when I go for my next visit then?
Don't know. You would have to ask them but most likely it is just standard procedure for just in case they can't/don't get the access to the data through AirView for some reason or other.

Bluetooth doesn't access anything but the communication between devices in your home
and they may share the data but the data going out of the machine goes via the modem and not Bluetooth. Bluetooth doesn't transmit to AirView or MyAir. It's the modem in the machine that phones home and allows the sharing of whatever data between various devices via Bluetooth.

If you didn't have Bluetooth enabled...the machine would still phone home to MyAir/AirView.
You are aware that the AirSense 11 is fitted with Bluetooth to transfer its data to a smartphone and this is what lynninnj has?

"How do I connect my ResMed AirSense 11 to Bluetooth?
Make sure that Bluetooth® is enabled on your smartphone and then log in to the myAir app and follow the prompts to connect to the AirSense 11 machine. If you don't see the four-digit key on the AirSense 11 screen, go to the Home menu and tap +More, and then tap myAir.

AirSense 11 CPAP machine - ResMed"

In the FAQ in this link.....
https://www.resmed.com/en-us/sleep-apne ... rsense-11/

_________________
Machine: DreamStation 2 Auto CPAP Advanced with Humidifier
Mask: Fisher & Paykel Vitera Full Face Mask with Headgear (S, M, or L Cushion)
Additional Comments: Resmed AirSense 10 Auto with Humidifier

User avatar
Pugsy
Posts: 61626
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: Can't register My ResMed AirCurve on MyAir

Post by Pugsy » Sat Aug 06, 2022 11:47 am

Yes. I am aware of Bluetooth. If Bluetooth was NOT enabled what do you think the modem would do in terms of phoning home? The cpap machine modem is going to phone home no matter if it is also communicating with the cell phone via Bluetooth.
The Bluetooth means that the machine can convey data to the phone and the phone then uses its ability to connect to the internet and then access MyAir.

If the phone had its internet connection lost....do you think Bluetooth could transmit anything anywhere??
If someone didn't sync up the machine and the phone using Bluetooth do you think the cpap machine won't phone home?
Grumpy48 wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 11:10 am
Pugsy wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 7:40 am
lynninnj wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 7:20 am
Why are they asking to bring the machine for the SD card when I go for my next visit then?
Don't know. You would have to ask them but most likely it is just standard procedure for just in case they can't/don't get the access to the data through AirView for some reason or other.

Bluetooth doesn't access anything but the communication between devices in your home
and they may share the data but the data going out of the machine goes via the modem and not Bluetooth. Bluetooth doesn't transmit to AirView or MyAir. It's the modem in the machine that phones home and allows the sharing of whatever data between various devices via Bluetooth.

If you didn't have Bluetooth enabled...the machine would still phone home to MyAir/AirView.
You are aware that the AirSense 11 is fitted with Bluetooth to transfer its data to a smartphone and this is what lynninnj has?

"How do I connect my ResMed AirSense 11 to Bluetooth?
Make sure that Bluetooth® is enabled on your smartphone and then log in to the myAir app and follow the prompts to connect to the AirSense 11 machine. If you don't see the four-digit key on the AirSense 11 screen, go to the Home menu and tap +More, and then tap myAir.

AirSense 11 CPAP machine - ResMed"

In the FAQ in this link.....
https://www.resmed.com/en-us/sleep-apne ... rsense-11/
Mask: Bleep no headgear mask.. https://bleepsleep.com/
Machine: AirCurve 10 VAuto

I may have to RISE but I refuse to SHINE.

Grumpy48
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 7:57 am

Re: Can't register My ResMed AirCurve on MyAir

Post by Grumpy48 » Sat Aug 06, 2022 12:27 pm

Pugsy wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 11:47 am
Yes. I am aware of Bluetooth. If Bluetooth was NOT enabled what do you think the modem would do in terms of phoning home? The cpap machine modem is going to phone home no matter if it is also communicating with the cell phone via Bluetooth.
The Bluetooth means that the machine can convey data to the phone and the phone then uses its ability to connect to the internet and then access MyAir.

If the phone had its internet connection lost....do you think Bluetooth could transmit anything anywhere??
If someone didn't sync up the machine and the phone using Bluetooth do you think the cpap machine won't phone home?
Yup, that's how it works mostly, so long as the cellular service is available and host at the receiving end uploads to MyAir. If that fails the BT via the bridged connection to the smartphone usually works reliably and that appears to be what lynninnj may be using if her cell service is not working as it should. At times when the celluar modem in my CPAP fails to connect, my smartphone bridges the CPAP app data through my wifi to the internet as I most times have smartphone cellular data turned off in the phone.

_________________
Machine: DreamStation 2 Auto CPAP Advanced with Humidifier
Mask: Fisher & Paykel Vitera Full Face Mask with Headgear (S, M, or L Cushion)
Additional Comments: Resmed AirSense 10 Auto with Humidifier

User avatar
SleepGeek
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 2:56 pm

Re: Can't register My ResMed AirCurve on MyAir

Post by SleepGeek » Sat Aug 06, 2022 1:37 pm

lynninnj wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 7:20 am
Why are they asking to bring the machine for the SD card when I go for my next visit then? I thought they would be checking compliance that way.
Could this depend on who "they" is?
If it is the docs office they may not have anything to read an SD card. Prob don't want to spend what it cost to read the SD card. Tho my docs always got what they need from the DME.

If it is the DME, could it be that the software isn't available for them yet or they don't want to spend the money any longer when things keep changing and they can get what they need for compliance right off the cpap device just like in the old days when they used to have to come to the house to read the data.
Why folks dont like it when you treat em the way they treat you?
Granny aka Whale Road + many others
we are here to help.
palerider aka GrumpyHere wrote: What exactly do you think you're adding to this thread?

User avatar
Dog Slobber
Posts: 3338
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Can't register My ResMed AirCurve on MyAir

Post by Dog Slobber » Sat Aug 06, 2022 2:41 pm

Grumpy48 wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 12:27 pm
Pugsy wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 11:47 am
Yes. I am aware of Bluetooth. If Bluetooth was NOT enabled what do you think the modem would do in terms of phoning home? The cpap machine modem is going to phone home no matter if it is also communicating with the cell phone via Bluetooth.
The Bluetooth means that the machine can convey data to the phone and the phone then uses its ability to connect to the internet and then access MyAir.

If the phone had its internet connection lost....do you think Bluetooth could transmit anything anywhere??
If someone didn't sync up the machine and the phone using Bluetooth do you think the cpap machine won't phone home?
Yup, that's how it works mostly, so long as the cellular service is available and host at the receiving end uploads to MyAir. If that fails the BT via the bridged connection to the smartphone usually works reliably and that appears to be what lynninnj may be using if her cell service is not working as it should. At times when the celluar modem in my CPAP fails to connect, my smartphone bridges the CPAP app data through my wifi to the internet as I most times have smartphone cellular data turned off in the phone.
All the Bluetooth connection does (currently) is send the serial number to the phone so the user doesn't have to enter it in.

The MyAir data is not being transmitted from the Air 11 to the phone via Bluetooth. That data transfer still happens the same way as the Air10.

Device sends data to Cloud via cellular, ResMed process data, after about an hour Data is available to MyAir via Web or phone App, The phone or web app then retrieves the data via internet.

Perhaps [probably] one day the data will be transferred directly from device to one's phone, but that's not how it's done yet.

lynninnj
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2022 8:56 am

Re: Can't register My ResMed AirCurve on MyAir

Post by lynninnj » Sat Aug 06, 2022 3:02 pm

Dog Slobber wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 2:41 pm
Grumpy48 wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 12:27 pm
Pugsy wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 11:47 am
Yes. I am aware of Bluetooth. If Bluetooth was NOT enabled what do you think the modem would do in terms of phoning home? The cpap machine modem is going to phone home no matter if it is also communicating with the cell phone via Bluetooth.
The Bluetooth means that the machine can convey data to the phone and the phone then uses its ability to connect to the internet and then access MyAir.

If the phone had its internet connection lost....do you think Bluetooth could transmit anything anywhere??
If someone didn't sync up the machine and the phone using Bluetooth do you think the cpap machine won't phone home?
Yup, that's how it works mostly, so long as the cellular service is available and host at the receiving end uploads to MyAir. If that fails the BT via the bridged connection to the smartphone usually works reliably and that appears to be what lynninnj may be using if her cell service is not working as it should. At times when the celluar modem in my CPAP fails to connect, my smartphone bridges the CPAP app data through my wifi to the internet as I most times have smartphone cellular data turned off in the phone.
All the Bluetooth connection does (currently) is send the serial number to the phone so the user doesn't have to enter it in.

The MyAir data is not being transmitted from the Air 11 to the phone via Bluetooth. That data transfer still happens the same way as the Air10.

Device sends data to Cloud via cellular, ResMed process data, after about an hour Data is available to MyAir via Web or phone App, The phone or web app then retrieves the data via internet.

Perhaps [probably] one day the data will be transferred directly from device to one's phone, but that's not how it's done yet.
see now I have been experimenting with this.

Some mornings when I wake up and turn on the app I can see it only goes up till the last time I got up to go to the bathroom.

This morning I decided after I turn the machine off I would turn it on again and then turn it right off. Lo and behold I had the full data package right away.

Normally there is a delay like you said but not this time. I’m gonna try this again tomorrow. My thought is that it goes back to the last time that you turn the machine off and on.

_________________
Machine: AirSense 11 Autoset
Mask: ResMed AirFit N30 Nasal CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: Newbie who loves her machine!