Provider mentioned I cant use SD card with rental Airsense 10 Autoset

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
seeker
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2021 8:48 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Provider mentioned I cant use SD card with rental Airsense 10 Autoset

Post by seeker » Wed Oct 13, 2021 5:57 pm

billbolton wrote:
Tue Oct 12, 2021 5:19 pm
Is that a verbatim quote, or a paraphrase?
I'm paraphrasing but they definitely told me that I wouldn't be able to use an SD card with the machine. It was pretty evident they weren't aware of how an SD card could be used with a machine though. They were only aware of the Resmed software which would automatically retrieve data from my machine.

Are there some problems I should anticipate with this?

Janknitz
Posts: 7745
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 1:05 pm

Re: Provider mentioned I cant use SD card with rental Airsense 10 Autoset

Post by Janknitz » Thu Oct 14, 2021 12:38 pm

I'm paraphrasing but they definitely told me that I wouldn't be able to use an SD card with the machine. It was pretty evident they weren't aware of how an SD card could be used with a machine though.
Of course they are aware (one would certainly HOPE they read the provider manual), but what we take from this lesson, Boys and Girls, is that DME's in Australia lie just as much as US DME's. :lol:
Are there some problems I should anticipate with this?
In the US, most insurers will not pay for the machine unless the user meets usage requirements. So the DME's have to use compliance data to prove to the insurer that you are using the machine in order to get paid by the insurer. That's all the DME and insurer care about. A very few sleep doctors/clinics actually use the data to help a use optimize the treatment. Very few.

In Australia, do you have to prove compliance? Will your health care providers monitor your treatment and help you optimize it? If not, why would you need to let them access your data remotely? You can put the machine in airplane mode to prevent access as long as that won't cause you any issues with your providers.
What you need to know before you meet your DME http://tinyurl.com/2arffqx
Taming the Mirage Quattro http://tinyurl.com/2ft3lh8
Swift FX Fitting Guide http://tinyurl.com/22ur9ts
Don't Pay that Upcharge! http://tinyurl.com/2ck48rm

User avatar
onward60
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2021 1:48 pm
Location: Midwest, USA

Re: Provider mentioned I cant use SD card with rental Airsense 10 Autoset

Post by onward60 » Thu Oct 14, 2021 1:00 pm

Janknitz wrote:
Thu Oct 14, 2021 12:38 pm
I'm paraphrasing but they definitely told me that I wouldn't be able to use an SD card with the machine. It was pretty evident they weren't aware of how an SD card could be used with a machine though.
Of course they are aware (one would certainly HOPE they read the provider manual), but what we take from this lesson, Boys and Girls, is that DME's in Australia lie just as much as US DME's. :lol:
Are there some problems I should anticipate with this?
In the US, most insurers will not pay for the machine unless the user meets usage requirements. So the DME's have to use compliance data to prove to the insurer that you are using the machine in order to get paid by the insurer. That's all the DME and insurer care about. A very few sleep doctors/clinics actually use the data to help a use optimize the treatment. Very few.

In Australia, do you have to prove compliance? Will your health care providers monitor your treatment and help you optimize it? If not, why would you need to let them access your data remotely? You can put the machine in airplane mode to prevent access as long as that won't cause you any issues with your providers.

Wow, that's very sad and also explains why my sleep nurse is so useless.
New to CPAP in Sept. 2021. N20 and MAD caused dental pain. Currently trying the Resmed Airfit F20 (medium). ResMed Air 10 for her machine.

My private messages might be turned off.

User avatar
booksfan
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:20 pm
Location: Triangle area, NC

Re: Provider mentioned I cant use SD card with rental Airsense 10 Autoset

Post by booksfan » Thu Oct 14, 2021 1:06 pm

seeker wrote:
Sun Oct 10, 2021 8:58 pm

I spoke to them on the phone and told them I would like to use an SD card to read my data through OSCAR and they said this isn't possible. They mentioned that they automatically capture data through their own Resmed software and they are able to send me the data as often as I would like.
You see, this is the kind of thing that REALLY gets my back up! And (sadly, because now you will all see just how much of a, let's just say nice person :lol: :roll: , I can be) I would call them EVERY SINGLE DAY to get the data, until they told me they had figured out that, yes, indeed, it IS possible to use an SD card to read my own data!
Mask: Bleep DreamPorts
Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet for Her

User avatar
BlueDragon
Posts: 445
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 10:20 am
Location: Sonoran Desert

Re: Provider mentioned I cant use SD card with rental Airsense 10 Autoset

Post by BlueDragon » Thu Oct 14, 2021 3:55 pm

Pugsy wrote:
Sun Oct 10, 2021 9:22 pm
If your machine didn't come with an SD card ...any cheap generic SD card will work. Keep the size at or below 32 GB though...OSCAR has trouble with 64 GB cards.
Just a point of clarification: it is the CPAP machine that has problems with 64GB cards--it doesn't recognize the formatting and wants to re-initialize the card. OSCAR doesn't care about card size.
OSCAR 1.3.0 is the latest release. ResMed AirSense 11, F&P SleepStyle, DeVilbiss BLUE, and Chromebooks now supported.
OSCAR Team
ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto, ResMed AirFit F30 mask
FlashAir SD and FlashPap for data transfer.

User avatar
Pugsy
Posts: 59240
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: Provider mentioned I cant use SD card with rental Airsense 10 Autoset

Post by Pugsy » Thu Oct 14, 2021 4:13 pm

BlueDragon wrote:
Thu Oct 14, 2021 3:55 pm
Pugsy wrote:
Sun Oct 10, 2021 9:22 pm
If your machine didn't come with an SD card ...any cheap generic SD card will work. Keep the size at or below 32 GB though...OSCAR has trouble with 64 GB cards.
Just a point of clarification: it is the CPAP machine that has problems with 64GB cards--it doesn't recognize the formatting and wants to re-initialize the card. OSCAR doesn't care about card size.
Yeah, some else explained that to me and I just haven't had time or energy to correct my statement.
Now, you did it for me and I don't have to.
Thanks
Mask: Bleep no headgear mask.. https://bleepsleep.com/
Machine: AirCurve 10 VAuto

I may have to RISE but I refuse to SHINE.

seeker
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2021 8:48 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Provider mentioned I cant use SD card with rental Airsense 10 Autoset

Post by seeker » Thu Oct 14, 2021 5:40 pm

Janknitz wrote:
Thu Oct 14, 2021 12:38 pm
In Australia, do you have to prove compliance? Will your health care providers monitor your treatment and help you optimize it? If not, why would you need to let them access your data remotely? You can put the machine in airplane mode to prevent access as long as that won't cause you any issues with your providers.
I don't believe there is any requirement to prove compliance. From my understanding, government funding for CPAP machines is only done when the person is facing financial difficulties and insurers only cover a small amount of the total cost. As far as I know most of the cost of renting the machine will be out of pocket.

From the conversation I had with them, I doubt they will help with optimising machine settings. So yeah, no reason to have them access my data haha.

User avatar
billbolton
Posts: 2236
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 7:46 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Provider mentioned I cant use SD card with rental Airsense 10 Autoset

Post by billbolton » Fri Oct 15, 2021 2:31 am

Janknitz wrote:
Thu Oct 14, 2021 12:38 pm
but what we take from this lesson, Boys and Girls, is that DME's in Australia lie just as much as US DME's. :lol:
You know nothing about the market in Australia.

There are no DMEs, just ordinary retailers sell that xPAP kit to end users who pay for it largely out of their own pockets. Long term hiring is rare, it is usually only done for a few weeks after diagnosis until the user is ready to purchase a xPAP device.... the hire companies may not have any specific knowledge about OSA, they just provide whatever kit is specified on the prescription. The sleep specialist is supposed to provide initial support for a new xPAP user until they form a relationship with a retailer.

There are no insurers monitoring anything about what a CPAP user does, so there are no minimum compliance periods,