15 days with ResMed AutoSense CPAP: Seeking Advice on Mouthbreathing

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
savemefrombhindi

15 days with ResMed AutoSense CPAP: Seeking Advice on Mouthbreathing

Post by savemefrombhindi » Thu May 20, 2021 5:27 am

Hi everyone

A newbie here. I just completed my 15 days of trial with ResMed Airsense 10 Auto. My sleep test had an AHI of 31.6 with AHI of over 51 in supine position and somewhere around 7 while sleeping on my side. I was also diagnosed with Deviated Nasal Septum and nasal polyps. While the recommended nasal septoplasty is on hold because of COVID, I began with CPAP.

After using CPAP for 15 days, my average usage so far has been 5.5 hours per night with an AHI of 4.5 and a leakage of 40L/Min. Is this a reasonable improvement? Or should I expect better. While AHI has come down, I cannot notice any difference in my tiredness, fatigue and brain fog. How long does it take to feel palpable improvement in symptoms ?

Secondly, being a mouth breather, I was advised a full face F20 mask. But I found it very difficult to use. It made me very claustrophobic; being an active sleeper, I also found it intolerable every time I turned to the sides. The first two nights, I removed the mask after around 2 hours in the middle of the night. AHI was also over 10. I moved to N20 nasal mask and slept well with it. I slept for more than 6 hours every night with a N20 and my AHI has been around 1.5-2. But three nights when my nasal congestion was particularly bad, I woke up with a terribly dry mouth. I was possibly breathing with my mouth. My day time sleepiness was also very bad next days despite a very low AHI.