Medicare requires that I answer questions before my next shipment

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
brightcrow

Medicare requires that I answer questions before my next shipment

Post by brightcrow » Sat Oct 17, 2020 10:15 pm

I'm new to Medicare, but up to now I've been receiving automatic quarterly shipments of supplies, based on suggested usage. I was told by a nurse that respiratory waste is the nastiest kind, so I trash used supplies based on suggested length of use. Now with Medicare, they ask me if my hose is damaged, and specifically how. Same with my mask, humidifier chamber, and other supplies. I don't like to lie, but I feel that keeping a hard-to-clean hose past its recommended time is not particularly sanitary, and same with other supplies. Plus when something breaks, it's nice to have a backup supply.

My question is, does everybody just routinely say everything is damaged, so they can get quarterly supplies? That's kind of what I've been doing, these two times since I got on Medicare. Or would doing that get a person into trouble? How do most people respond?

palerider

Re: Medicare requires that I answer questions before my next shipment

Post by palerider » Sat Oct 17, 2020 10:54 pm

brightcrow wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 10:15 pm
I'm new to Medicare, but up to now I've been receiving automatic quarterly shipments of supplies, based on suggested usage.
This is a wasteful lie invented by greedy DMEs to increase their profits by billing your insurance companies for things YOU DO NOT NEED. There is *NOTHING* associated with the cpap that *needs* to be replaced on any 'schedule'.
brightcrow wrote:
I was told by a nurse that respiratory waste is the nastiest kind, so I trash used supplies based on suggested length of use.