What kind of Apniac needs a biPap?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
dvejr

What kind of Apniac needs a biPap?

Post by dvejr » Sun May 03, 2020 8:43 pm

I am a happy CPAP veteran (15 years on the hose). My current machine is an autosetting ResMed. I'm happy with it but have a question about Bi-Level machines:
who needs one? As in, what set of symptoms/problems would point an OSA sufferer to a BiPap rather than a CPAP as a therapeutic?

jnk...

Re: What kind of Apniac needs a biPap?

Post by jnk... » Sun May 03, 2020 9:04 pm

AASM dudes wrote:The decision to use BPAP should be based on the clinician's judgement and needs of the individual patient. . . . In addition, treatment of other forms of sleep-related breathing disorders associated with hypercapnia . . . may require the use of BPAP. . . . To improve PAP adherence, BPAP has been used as an alternative to CPAP, in part due to issues of patient intolerance of high CPAP settings . . . The historically perceived benefits of BPAP are less likely to be relevant [now] since modified pressure profile technology, which also lowers expiratory pressures, has been integrated into modern PAP devices. --https://aasm.org/clinical-resources/pra ... uidelines/
That last statement hints at how modern ResMed CPAPs and APAPs now have EPR which can deliver a 3cm drop in pressure during exhale that is virtual bilevel of 3cmH2O, almost as comfy as bilevel.

Nice hat!
-Jeff (AS10/P30i)

Accounts to put on the foe list: Me. I often post misleading, timewasting stuff.

dvejr

Post by dvejr » Sun May 03, 2020 9:27 pm

Thanks. I wonder why Bi-Levels are thought to be better ventilators for COVID patients? Maybe a weakened patient needs very large difference between a high inhalation pressure and a very low exhalation relief pressure, perhaps even approaching zero?

chunkyfrog
Location: Nebraska--I am sworn to keep the secret of this paradise.

Post by chunkyfrog » Sun May 03, 2020 9:43 pm