Hypopnea and Oral Appliances

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Diagnosed and Confused

Hypopnea and Oral Appliances

Post by Diagnosed and Confused » Tue Sep 24, 2013 10:22 pm

Hi,

I am a confused newbie and hopefully I am posting this in the correct spot. I have reviewed the definitions and stickies at the beginning of this post. After a sleep study I have been diagnosed with mild sleep apnea - hypopnea actually.

My partner complained my snoring is so loud sleep is difficult. Mentioned this to my doctor and he suggested a sleep study/sleep doctor. I found a very respected one but live in a rural area where sleep doctors are not plentiful. She examined me did a history etc and I went for my sleep study. I had a heck of a time falling asleep. Today I reviewed the results with the sleep doctor and I thought I would get down in writing all that I remember.

She brought the study up on the computer and was also looking at the file with the written report. She told me that there was a mistake in the written report - the report should have said that I have mild sleep apnea, but the report incorrectly said severe due to a math error. She then crossed out the word severe and replaced it with the word mild on the written report.