How long does your (full face) mask last?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
soldamerican

How long does your (full face) mask last?

Post by soldamerican » Fri Jun 15, 2012 3:13 pm

When I had insurance they would replace my mask and headgear once every three months. Knowing that I would soon lose my coverage I stocked up, getting a new one as often as they allowed. But I kept using my mask longer than the 3 months. Now I've been using the same one for almost 8 months and it doesn't seem to be deteriorating at all. I clean it with mild soap every couple days and wear it about 5 hours a night.

I'm curious how long other folks use theirs.

Pugsy

Re: How long does your (full face) mask last?

Post by Pugsy » Fri Jun 15, 2012 3:20 pm

Some people reports many, many months of use into years of use.
I get many, many months of use out of my nasal pillows and my insurance allows 2 replacements per month.
Usually when I finally toss them it is more from looking so darn ugly than anything else. The silicone darkens and yellows when exposed to air over time and just looks rather gross even if it is clean.

If you want to try the Eclipse mask and want a special promo code to get a little off the price...send me a private message.

LSAT

Post by LSAT » Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:03 pm

I change my Quattro yearly. I change the cushion every 3-4 months. I never change the headgear except when I get a new mask. I clean my mask monthly and I use CPAP wipes nightly. I boil my cushion once between purchases.

Sheriff Buford

Post by Sheriff Buford » Fri Jun 15, 2012 5:11 pm

I would keep a mask as long as it works well and as long as you can stand it. My mask will start to leak badly around my temples and there is nothing I can do about it. That's when I replace it... usually 3 - 4 months. All masks are different.

Sheriff

archangle

Post by archangle » Fri Jun 15, 2012 10:13 pm

I'm using a nasal mask, not full face, but...