87 yo fem trying to use Respironics BiPAP unit

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Mike Mitchell (Artimus60)

87 yo fem trying to use Respironics BiPAP unit

Post by Mike Mitchell (Artimus60) » Thu May 17, 2012 12:35 pm

Greetings all,

If you think you might have some words of advice for a guy trying to help his elderly mom get a handle on effectively using a Respironics BiPAP AutoSV Advanced unit, please read on - we're about 6 weeks into our Sleep Apnea adventure so I'm not a complete newbie but I'm sure my tentative grasp on this crazy stuff will become apparent if you read my story. I am past the innocent stage of assuming that you just plug in the box and slap on the mask and it works its magic (maybe that happens with some folks but I don't think we fall into that category). I was tremendously heartened to run across this forum and I've been observing for a few days but I think it might be time to speak up. Here goes nothing!

In Short
My mom has been diagnosed with sleep apnea, we started with a CPAP machine which didn’t help much, and we’re now using a BiPAP machine that also hasn’t improved her symptoms very much. I’m trying to be patient and have realistic expectations but the pace at which we’re progressing seems to be frightfully slow. At the outset, I wrongly assumed that we’d just turn on the device, use it consistently, follow the instructions, and we’d be on our way. So you’ll note that I’m playing a little bit of ‘catch up’ as far as gathering and understanding the data as it relates to my mom’s treatment.

Me
I’m not conversant with computers and software at the code level but I’m not spooked by technology and I don’t mind rolling up my sleeves to solve a PC, software, or OS issue if it comes to that.

Our story so far:
CPAP