just another newbie

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
kathyc33

just another newbie

Post by kathyc33 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 9:46 pm

I have been using a cpap for about 2 months. Still not sure if I am doing things right. I average about 4 hours per night before I wake up and have to take it off for awhile. Some nights I am able to leave it on all night. But even when I do leave it on, I really don't see much of a difference in my rest. I know I might be opening a can of worms here, but I do enjoy a couple of drinks in the evening and I know that will have an effect on my sleep, but I was hoping the cpap would compensate for this?

Julie

Re: just another newbie

Post by Julie » Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:26 pm

Cpap can't compensate for a 'drug' (alcohol) that relaxes your tissues so that OSA gets worse and your brain's instincts (to breathe) are suppressed... One glass of wine at dinner is one thing, but a couple of highballs later on... not so good.

Newbie Woman

Post by Newbie Woman » Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:28 pm

I don't know the answer but welcome Newbie!

kathyc33

Post by kathyc33 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:38 pm

Thank you for the welcome. As for the "drugs" as I mentioned I do enjoy a few drinks in the evening and when I mentioned that to my sleep doctor he kind of frowned. I did notice a difference when I attended the sleep study and did not have any drinks that night. But I was somewhat hoping that the cpap would make up for it somehow because I am not ready to give it up. I hope I am not making myself sound like an alcoholic or anything. It is just a few social drinks in the evening with friends.

josh73

Post by josh73 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:44 pm