Increased appetite after starting CPAP?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
JoeP

Increased appetite after starting CPAP?

Post by JoeP » Thu May 03, 2012 12:42 pm

I've been working to lose weight for the past several years, I dropped 40 lbs in 2008/2009, i would have liked to lost another 50 but i stalled out. I maintained the 40 lost lbs until last summer when it started to creep back and I started to really notice apnea symptoms. Since last July i have put 20 lbs on.

I have heard all kids of people talk about the weight they have lost after starting CPAP. I haven't lost anything in the 10 days I have been on it and in fact my appetite has increased. I am still going to the gym regularly and working to eat healthy but i am having a hard time with the appetite. A co-worker thinks it may be a good sign that my metabolism is recovering and my body needs the extra energy.

Has anyone else experienced this?

Sheriff Buford

Re: Increased appetite after starting CPAP?

Post by Sheriff Buford » Thu May 03, 2012 12:47 pm

I lost weight after starting cpap therapy, but it wasn't within 10 days. I have heard some folks here have a slight "bump-up". Your body will start to do wonderful things. I would not look for any substantial-long term health effects within 10 days. I will bet on the long run, you will eventually lose weight.

Sheriff

locust78

Post by locust78 » Thu May 03, 2012 12:59 pm