Machines

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
SingleMom

Machines

Post by SingleMom » Thu May 29, 2008 8:18 pm

I just got my CPAP stuff 2 whole days ago and my insurance is giving me issues (unrelated to CPAP stuff). So I'm considering just buying everything. I was looking at some of the ResMed's auto machines. What's everyone's opinions? I have no experience, 2 nights of taking my mask off in my sleep. Right now I'm using (if you can call it that!) a resmed s8 elite and I think I like it (lol), but have no idea what to look for in these.

sleepycarol

Post by sleepycarol » Thu May 29, 2008 8:38 pm

If you plan on paying out of pocket get your equipment from an online dealer. Much cheaper and a better value!!
Start Date: 8/30/2007 Pressure 9 - 15
I am not a doctor or other health care professional. Comments reflect my own personal experiences and opinions.

cflame1

Post by cflame1 » Thu May 29, 2008 9:07 pm

You may find that Resmed's are pretty expensive, and that your treatment could be just as good (if not better) with another machine if you are looking at purchasing out of pocket.

Slinky

Post by Slinky » Thu May 29, 2008 9:25 pm

Never mind the advertised online pricing. Call the toll free numbers and ask the various online DME suppliers if they have an "unadvertised sale" or "unadvertised price" on the Resmed S8 Elite or the Resmed S8 AutoSet Vantage. They are great xPAPs and you can't go wrong w/one.

And check cpap.com's prices on them. Seems to me when I checked just a few days ago that their price was pretty good. Most likely your insurance has paid up front for the humidifier and mask and hose, etc. that you have and it is only the Elite that is on the monthly rent to own payment plan.

Hang w/your insurance long enough for the DME supplier to have been paid for the mask, humidifier, etc. since its not the CPAP stuff they are hassling you over.