Use a CPAP Machine With NO Pressure

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
datguykirt

Use a CPAP Machine With NO Pressure

Post by datguykirt » Sun Jun 12, 2011 7:18 pm

Has anyone tried using the CPAP with no pressure to get a base line reading to use as a comparison to gauge the effectiveness of the treatment? Mine (S9 Elite) only goes as low as 4 cm H2O but I suspect that would be controlled by altering the XML file, ResScan.XML
Any thoughts on this?

scrapper

Re: Use a CPAP Machine With NO Pressure

Post by scrapper » Sun Jun 12, 2011 7:30 pm

I do not believe any of the machines will go below 4...........the ranges generally are 4-20 or 4-30.

“Life is 10% what happens to you, and 90% what you make of it.” Charles Swindoll

SleepingUgly

Post by SleepingUgly » Sun Jun 12, 2011 7:32 pm

I don't know about modifying files... personally that would make me nervous, but I'm no programmer. I've done 4cm, and would have liked to be able to collect data at 0 cm, but mine doesn't go lower either.
Never put your fate entirely in the hands of someone who cares less about it than you do. --Sleeping Ugly

Breathe Jimbo

Post by Breathe Jimbo » Sun Jun 12, 2011 7:40 pm

Absurd. With no airflow generated, the machine would have no reliable ability to detect events. Think about it.

BleepingBeauty

Post by BleepingBeauty » Sun Jun 12, 2011 7:40 pm

datguykirt wrote:Has anyone tried using the CPAP with no pressure to get a base line reading to use as a comparison to gauge the effectiveness of the treatment? Mine (S9 Elite) only goes as low as 4 cm H2O but I suspect that would be controlled by altering the XML file, ResScan.XML
Any thoughts on this?
That's just nutty.

Why do you need a baseline on your own machine to go by? Your diagnostic sleep study serves as the baseline for your untreated apnea.