Do I really need a local DME?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
YogaKitty

Do I really need a local DME?

Post by YogaKitty » Mon Aug 13, 2012 6:35 pm

I have my prescription from my doc and a list of in network DMEs. I know I need to start calling them but I dread it. I dislike salesmen and playing games. If my insurance will pay could I get by just ordering from cpap.com? I know there are fit issues and such, but I sure would like to avoid all the hassle! I am a newbie and have never used cpap except at my titration study.
I also have used a night guard for twelve years.

Xney

Re: Do I really need a local DME?

Post by Xney » Mon Aug 13, 2012 6:46 pm

The main advantage of going through a (good) DME is they can let you try out masks quickly and help you get it right (hopefully). Otherwise, if your insurance will reimburse you when you buy it on your own, there's no benefit. They're basically a value-add.

They do tend to be good at filling out insurance stuff to get their money.

chunkyfrog

Post by chunkyfrog » Mon Aug 13, 2012 6:56 pm

Usually, online means higher co-pay for you, often an UNGODLY deductible.
Cpap.com needs all the money up front--from you, Insurance is 'supposed' to reimburse
you for whatever is their responsibility--(their schedule, their rules: be prepared to wait)
If you can wangle the right machine on your RX, and get the local yokels to fill it correctly
(without an upcharge), they might be more affordable, or at least easier to swing.
You have to do your research--it's different everywhere.
They are just people--If your RX is EXACTLY what you need, it is way better than a vague scrip.

LoneStar

Post by LoneStar » Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:23 pm

I don't have a local DME and I'm doing fine.