cleaning or sanitizing humidifier

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
jeffishere

cleaning or sanitizing humidifier

Post by jeffishere » Sat Feb 11, 2012 2:36 pm

Hi all!
There are over 2,000 post on cleaning or sanitizing your humidifier. After about 20 mts. of trying to read the tiny type my eyes are crossed! I'm looking for the definitive post or thread on cleaning or sanitizing a humidifier, if anyone can suggest one or two, that would be great! I have been using distilled water for almost two years but have never cleaned the humidifier.

Thanks!
Jeff

LSAT

Re: cleaning or sanitizing humidifier

Post by LSAT » Sat Feb 11, 2012 2:51 pm

Probably vinegar and water after that amount of time or...pop for a new water chamber...$25???

Robespierre

Post by Robespierre » Sat Feb 11, 2012 3:38 pm

jeffishere wrote:Hi all!
There are over 2,000 post on cleaning or sanitizing your humidifier. After about 20 mts. of trying to read the tiny type my eyes are crossed! I'm looking for the definitive post or thread on cleaning or sanitizing a humidifier, if anyone can suggest one or two, that would be great! I have been using distilled water for almost two years but have never cleaned the humidifier.

Thanks!
Jeff
I suggest running it through a cycle in the dishwasher, top shelf. Comes out clean as a whistle.

archangle

Post by archangle » Sat Feb 11, 2012 4:10 pm

Buy this. You need a spare tank anyway.

Disassemble and dishwash regularly.

Even better, get two cleanable tanks, dishwash once a week, and let the clean one dry for a week between cleanings.

If you have the non-dishwashable tank, and it's two years old, throw it away. You can afford a new $35 tank every two years. If you don't throw away the old tank open it up and clean it. It can actually be opened with some effort. Just to be safe, buy the replacement tank first.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=scg8Nc9LkRo

Please enter your equipment in your profile so we can help you.