Sleep apena misdiagnoses?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Alshain

Sleep apena misdiagnoses?

Post by Alshain » Mon Jul 04, 2011 6:47 pm

I've been using a CPAP pretty regularly for 6 months now. However, lately I'm beginning to wonder if I really even have sleep apnea. I've tried going a few nights without the machine and I feel equally terrible without it as I do with it (I used the negative because I do feel awful 75% of my days regardless of the CPAP). Wouldn't the CPAP make a noticeable difference after 6 months of use? And if I stopped using for a night, wouldn't I feel worse the next day?

The only difference between using the machine and not using it is that I sleep better without it (I stay awake till 2am messing with the mask because I still haven't got used to it, where as I seem to sleep fine without it).

Is it possible/common to be incorrectly told you have sleep apnea when you don't? How accurate is the sleep study?

I am at wits end trying to figure out what to do. I can't afford another sleep study and I feel as though I'm wasting money I don't have supporting a treatment for a disorder I don't have.

But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint. - Isaiah 40:31 (KJV)

BleepingBeauty

Re: Sleep apena misdiagnoses?

Post by BleepingBeauty » Mon Jul 04, 2011 7:31 pm

Alshain wrote:I've been using a CPAP pretty regularly for 6 months now. However, lately I'm beginning to wonder if I really even have sleep apnea. I've tried going a few nights without the machine and I feel equally terrible without it as I do with it (I used the negative because I do feel awful 75% of my days regardless of the CPAP). Wouldn't the CPAP make a noticeable difference after 6 months of use? And if I stopped using for a night, wouldn't I feel worse the next day?